PDA

View Full Version : PowerBook, 15" or 17" - Can't Decide!

one_nil
4th June 2005, 03:05 PM
hey all,
im kinda new here,
but i need help deciding on which Powerbook to go for.
Im studying graphic design.
I cant decide on which model powerbook to go for.. the 17" or the 15" ?

I will be using the pb as a desktop replacement for my current system, aswell as taking it to classes etc. SO its a portable desktop replacement...

Im thinking the 17" may be too big? ive been talking to a few people and they all say its too big? I currently use a 17" crt monitor at 1280x1024 in windows, I am feeling like im downgrading when i goto a 15" screen?

But i feel the portabiltiy is better on the 15?

I just cant decide..
Anyone on here designers? what would you recommend?

I also think i cant decide because of the jump from Pc to mac...
Would i be able to do the same things on a pc based notebook ?

sorry for the babble,
i feel i cant express my situation clearly

any advice would be helpful

mvjs
4th June 2005, 03:10 PM
Theres no point asking about PC or Mac here :)

It depends.
The PowerBook 17inch fetures a bigger screen therefore its larger, and less portable.
On the other hand the 15inch fetures a smaller screen, and graphic designers might just need that little bit of extra space.
The 17inch is more expencive too :)
It just depends what you prefer more portable or larger screen

Ronin+Scissors
4th June 2005, 03:14 PM
Personally, if I were in your shoes, I'd get a 15 and spend the difference on an 17 or perhaps even 19 LCD to leave on your desk*. That way you have both portability when you need it and real-estate when you need it.

*Just in case you didn't know you can do screen-spanning with Apple laptops, meaning you can use the laptop's display and an extra monitor together. From a design perspective, you could, for example, have your actual work on the external display, and all your palettes etc on the laptop display.

zen
4th June 2005, 03:19 PM