PDA

View Full Version : Help please cannot burn CD or DVD with eMac

Ronirossi
6th April 2009, 02:57 PM
Hi All, for some weird reason over the weekend my eMac has stopped burning CD or DVD's. I have iTunes 8.1 and iPhoto 7. Last week it was fine, but it has all gone very weird. I would appreciate some assistance please. (Remember I am not very technical :footinmouth: so simple answers would be good. I tried all day Sunday to get it work:o. Thanks for your help all.

captain fantasy
6th April 2009, 03:30 PM
Can you play a cd that you know is OK?
It maybe that your burner has given up the ghost!
What does it do, does it give an error message?

Ronirossi
6th April 2009, 04:13 PM
Yes I can play them. But it does not want to burn CD's in iTunes or DVD's in iPhoto anymore. Any help would be appreciated.

captain fantasy
6th April 2009, 05:50 PM
Are you using different cd or dvd media.
Have you downloaded any new software or made any changes to itunes, iphotos?

Rant
6th April 2009, 10:15 PM
Lots of other questions:

Does the computer say it can't recognise the blank media when you insert it?
if so, what brand & kind of discs are you using?
What model eMac & what OS do you have (Apple menu/About this Mac)?
Does Apple/Software Update say you need to update anything?
Can you burn a disc in Finder? (type burn into Finder help & choose "Burning a CD or DVD" for instructions).

Some people have 'solved' the iTunes problem by downgrading to a previous version of iTunes, but that's not a simple process, so we'll stick to the previous questions, to begin with. The fact that you have the same problem with iPhoto indicates that problem is bigger than just one application.

Ronirossi
7th April 2009, 09:52 AM
Thank you so much for your patience with me and your help.:D.
I will try the above at home tonight and will let you know how I go. Sorry I am not very technical :p

Rant
7th April 2009, 10:25 AM