PDA

View Full Version : Healthy mac software and backup?

elliptrical
30th March 2009, 03:35 PM
Hi all
I've had my macbook since 2007 and it's still powering along but i've got to the part now where I think I should look into purchasing some software that can do a system clean up and a back up. I know, I know... dumb questions, but I'm a complete novice and I just lined up at Chatswood apple centre for 20 minutes without getting any help..very busy busy people.

Can anybody help me out with some software recommendations?

What's the best product for a system clean up and back up. I'm using OS 10.4.11 so not leopard.

Oh, and does this OS run time machine? I was told to use that as a back up but I don't think I have it.

Please feel free to move my post to the correct place on this forum - probably the complete idiot ooops.. novice section would do me:p

Thanks for your help in advance.

NeoRicen
30th March 2009, 03:39 PM
Can't answer most of your questions, but Time Machine is a Leopard feature, so no, you don't have it. Although there are apps available that do similar things (don't ask me what they are, I don't use them).

mwot
30th March 2009, 04:21 PM
Super Duper (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html) is a good software app to make backups to an external HDD. i'd start with that. the free version will allow you to make manual backups of your Macbook, while a paid version allows automatic scheduled backups.

Or, you may be interested in an online backup solution. i use SugarSync (sugarsync.com) and it saved my bacon when my Macbook's HDD failed mid last week, guaranteeing i had an uptodate online backup of all my important files from my Macbook.

iCarllovesapple
30th March 2009, 06:52 PM
Hi. :)