PDA

View Full Version : iphone frozen/1.1.1!

chocho
27th March 2009, 10:17 AM
hi guys,

my friend is getting rid of his 1st generation 8gb iphone that is stuck/frozen on firmware 1.1.1 (excuse the lack of knowledge) and he is willing to sell it if the phone is fixable!

i have no idea or experience with the lingo of the iphone gadget yet (late starter) and would like to know what is the best way to try and reinstall the os on it.....

all i know is that the phone is unlocked/jailbroken, and it has ver 1.1.1

many thanks

Huy
27th March 2009, 10:19 AM
Your friend should upgrade the firmware (software) on it. 1.1.1 is way too old.

We are at 2.2.1 now.

The phone is fixable and resalable.

You might want to look at this:
http://forums.mactalk.com.au/36/46770-babysteps-guide-upgrading-1st-gen-iphone-fw-2-1-pwnage.html

There might be newer info out there but look for yourself on how to get to 2.x on a 2G.

chocho
27th March 2009, 10:32 AM
thanks for the info huy :)

is there anything i should look out for while upgrading it (he's left it for me to do} i don't want to re lock it. or cause it further problems.

thanks

Huy
27th March 2009, 10:34 AM
If it was me, I would restore it to 2.2.1. Not upgrade from 1.1.1 to 2.2.1 (sounds messy). Better to start with a clean slate (backup contacts, etc. beforehand) to avoid any issues e.g. old residual files that can slow the OS down (for example).

It will be re-locked anyway with a restore, but you can easily jailbreak/activate/unlock it since it is a 2G iPhone. So don't worry if it gets re-locked. You can always fix that.

Of course, you can upgrade 1.1.1 -> 2.2.1 directly over the top of 1.1.1 if you like, but that is not my suggestion (if it was my iPhone). I'd still restore it just to know that I am 're-virginizing' it. :)

chocho
27th March 2009, 10:46 AM
ok :)