PDA

View Full Version : Weird iPhone lock/unlock issues



tcn33
27th March 2009, 08:47 AM
Got a replacement iPhone recently - my old one was unlocked by Optus and I've taken it to Telstra. It was my understanding that replacement iPhones handed out at the Apple Store were unlocked, but I'm having some weird issues with this one.

Any time I change to my Optus SIM, I have to reconnect it to iTunes. First I get this:

http://img.skitch.com/20090326-cwwa4jia2y9jrwrd9qimn478bu.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/toby/bj1np/skitched-20090327-094918)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/toby/bj1np/skitched-20090327-094918) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

Then when I connect to iTunes I get this:

http://img.skitch.com/20090326-gq25p9n6m9q3pqxcjws7pupigy.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/toby/bj1ym/itunes)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/toby/bj1ym/itunes) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

And then the iPhone gets the Optus carrier logo and reception bars:

http://img.skitch.com/20090326-q26m26tkjsw12cp4tn58h55q7t.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/toby/bj1yp/iphone)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/toby/bj1yp/iphone) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

But it doesn't seem to make any immediate difference - I keep getting stuck at the emergency call screen with the same "Different SIM detected" alert. Eventually though, it goes away and works normally.

Weirdly, it doesn't do the same thing in reverse - it works instantly when I insert the Telstra SIM.

What the?

Huy
27th March 2009, 08:50 AM
That is very strange indeed. You should be able to hotswap SIMs without having to be 'unlocked' again via iTunes.

Perhaps the iPhone replacement units are special in that way. But I don't see why they would do that (besides more hassle of connecting to iTunes all the time).

Have you performed a Restore? Latest firmware?
How about Restore via DFU mode?