PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading RAM in MacBook?



thomasisrunningoutofideas
18th March 2009, 08:39 PM
is it wise to upgrade my memory myself, are there any risks involved in doing it the way instructed on the back of the laptop (under the battery)? or should a profesional do it?

cheers

[Mod Edit: Thread title updated to reflect the nature of the thread.]

tcimac
18th March 2009, 09:06 PM
I assume you are talking about RAM and not HDD?? If it is RAM, Do it yourself. It's easy

neg2led
18th March 2009, 09:08 PM
A few things to be said here.

A: Your thread title is uninformative. you should say what model you are looking to upgrade etc. Just saying "memory upgrade?" is utterly useless. A better title would be "Upgrading RAM in <model> to <amount>, can/should i do it myself?"
B: Poorly worded post, overall too brief for me to be able to offer any advice (i'd imagine others are the same) - Spend some time getting grammar/spelling/punctuation correct and provide as much information as possible IE model, warranty status, your confidence in doing this upgrade.

Someone needs to learn how to ask for help.

Give us the model you're considering upgrading, from what to what, warranty status (applecare or no applecare? date of purchase?) etc and we might be able to help. As-is, there is little to no advice i can offer.

--neg

thomasisrunningoutofideas
18th March 2009, 09:14 PM
A few things to be said here.

A: Your thread title is uninformative. you should say what model you are looking to upgrade etc. Just saying "memory upgrade?" is utterly useless. A better title would be "Upgrading RAM in <model> to <amount>, can/should i do it myself?"
B: Poorly worded post, overall too brief for me to be able to offer any advice (i'd imagine others are the same) - Spend some time getting grammar/spelling/punctuation correct and provide as much information as possible IE model, warranty status, your confidence in doing this upgrade.

Someone needs to learn how to ask for help.

Give us the model you're considering upgrading, from what to what, warranty status (applecare or no applecare? date of purchase?) etc and we might be able to help. As-is, there is little to no advice i can offer.

--neg

right well heres this stuff im sure you'll be able to make more of it than me

Model Name: MacBook
Model Identifier: MacBook1,1
Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
Processor Speed: 1.83 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 2 MB
Memory: 512 MB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MB11.0061.B03
SMC Version: 1.4f12
Serial Number: 4H633GAJU9B
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled

cheers

Huy
18th March 2009, 09:15 PM
RAM or HDD, either one you can do yourself. Easily.

Put 2GB of RAM (max) in that machine.

neg2led
18th March 2009, 09:20 PM
Either one requires the removal of two (? might be 3) captive screws from the battery compartment and is easily done. The new RAM/HDD can be purchased from just about anywhere.

You're after a 2.5" SATA HDD and DDR2-667MHz SODIMM RAM.

(see? provide us with information and we can provide solutions.)

--neg

NeoRicen
18th March 2009, 09:20 PM
You can do it yourself easily, if you take out the battery there's a simple guide to doing it printed there. If that's not helpful enough there's plenty of guides if you just Google it.

Huy
18th March 2009, 09:22 PM
Either one requires the removal of two (? might be 3) captive screws from the battery compartment and is easily done.

3. :)
http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/7937/picture1yue.png

thomasisrunningoutofideas
18th March 2009, 09:22 PM
Either one requires the removal of two (? might be 3) captive screws from the battery compartment and is easily done. The new RAM/HDD can be purchased from just about anywhere.

You're after a 2.5" SATA HDD and DDR2-667MHz SODIMM RAM.

(see? provide us with information and we can provide solutions.)

--neg

ok cool is there a link you could send us to find that stuff haha im pretty clueless, you should know that by now.

thomasisrunningoutofideas
18th March 2009, 09:23 PM
3. :)
http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/7937/picture1yue.png
thanks dude but the other day i couldent help myself and pulled that off haha

Huy
18th March 2009, 09:24 PM
There are instructions printed under the battery (see your first post in this thread).

It is also contained in the manual, which you should have in the box.
Otherwise look here for the PDF: http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/MacBook_13inch_UsersGuide.pdf

Or if you don't like to read, here's a video:
8c6ckjy-gdY

You will need Torx screwdrivers to remove the drive housing to attach onto a new drive.

You can look for the HDD yourself if you know what capacity you want. Use www.staticice.com.au
The same goes for RAM.

thomasisrunningoutofideas
18th March 2009, 09:29 PM
Either one requires the removal of two (? might be 3) captive screws from the battery compartment and is easily done. The new RAM/HDD can be purchased from just about anywhere.

You're after a 2.5" SATA HDD and DDR2-667MHz SODIMM RAM.

(see? provide us with information and we can provide solutions.)

--neg

would this be ok?
http://www.ramcity.com.au/product/KIN1-AMK13I-2G-06.htm

neg2led
18th March 2009, 09:31 PM
Purchasement of the required parts can be done at a couple of places.

RAM, I reccomend here: 2xBJV, MA369G/A (Apple); MA751G/A (Apple) - 2GB PC2-5300 200-pin SO-DIMM Kit memory upgrade for Apple MacBook 13-inch 1,2 Generation (http://www.ramcity.com.au/product/KIN1-AMK13I-2G-06.htm) (as they're MacTalk supporting)

the HDD...well lots of places have them, your local PC reseller most likely stocks disks. Laptop SATA hard disk is a more common name.

--neg

Huy
18th March 2009, 09:32 PM
$81 is too expensive for 2GB 667MHz IMO.

They are around $50 on StaticIce.com.au for Corsair/Kingston 2x 1GB sticks.

thomasisrunningoutofideas
18th March 2009, 09:33 PM
Purchasement of the required parts can be done at a couple of places.

RAM, I reccomend here: 2xBJV, MA369G/A (Apple); MA751G/A (Apple) - 2GB PC2-5300 200-pin SO-DIMM Kit memory upgrade for Apple MacBook 13-inch 1,2 Generation (http://www.ramcity.com.au/product/KIN1-AMK13I-2G-06.htm) (as they're MacTalk supporting)

the HDD...well lots of places have them, your local PC reseller most likely stocks disks. Laptop SATA hard disk is a more common name.

--neg

If i upgrade my hdd i will lose everything though wont i. because i upgraded from tiger to leopard and i only have a single use disk...same goes for ilife and iwork.

Huy
18th March 2009, 09:36 PM
SuperDuper (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html) is your friend.

Clone the old drive onto the new.

thomasisrunningoutofideas
18th March 2009, 09:39 PM
SuperDuper (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html) is your friend.

Clone the old drive onto the new.

where does that get cloned to though ?

neg2led
18th March 2009, 09:45 PM
Please Note: Any data loss or damage to components is completely your fault. MacTalk is merely a group of individuals guiding you in the right direction, and takes no responsibility.

You hook up the old disk externally, boot off it and use superduper to clone it to the new internal disk.

--neg

thomasisrunningoutofideas
18th March 2009, 09:47 PM
SuperDuper (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html) is your friend.

Clone the old drive onto the new.

it say that the program will exclude "system specific data" will that include leopard as i upgraded from tiger.

Huy
18th March 2009, 09:48 PM
You're using the new disk in your old MacBook. It's the same MacBook (system). The drive will be cloned from your old drive onto the new drive. So you will end up with your old data, just on a bigger disk (hopefully you buy a bigger one ;)).

It will include Leopard.

thomasisrunningoutofideas
18th March 2009, 10:05 PM
is there a maximum hardrive capacity?

LCGuy
18th March 2009, 10:11 PM
You can stick as big a HDD as you want into it, so long as its a 2.5" notebook unit. The biggest they make at the moment (they will get bigger in the future) is 500GB.

Huy
18th March 2009, 10:30 PM
Buy this 7200RPM 320GB, 5 year warranty one from Western Digital.
staticICE :: WD3200BEKT : Australia's comprehensive computer hardware and gadget price comparison search engine (http://www.staticice.com.au/cgi-bin/search.cgi?q=WD3200BEKT&spos=3)

Of course, you can look at 5400RPM if you want as well:
http://www.staticice.com.au/cgi-bin/search.cgi?q=500gb+2.5%22+sata+western+digital&spos=1

Or change your manufacturer if you don't like Western Digital.