PDA

View Full Version : Using Access Databases on Mac



cbbob
18th March 2009, 09:06 AM
I am thinking about buying an imac. I now use a PC and windows XP. I have visited an Apple store and they tell me that if I purchase a new iMac they will load some of my files into it so I could still use my windows. I use Office 2007 and have some databases on Access.
I see that I can use Office the student version but it doesn't have access. Is there any database I could use on the MAC that I could switch Access files to?

Huy
18th March 2009, 09:07 AM
You can run Access on your Mac as well using virtualization tools e.g. VMware or Parallels, as well as natively using Boot Camp.

alanthomasball
18th March 2009, 09:21 AM
Microsoft doesn't make the Access database application for Mac. As Huy noted you would need to use software called VMware Fusion (http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/) or Parallels Desktop (http://www.parallels.com/products/desktop/) that emulates PC hardware. (You will need a copy of Windows XP or Vista). This allows you to run either "Windows in a window", or Windows applications side-by-side with your Mac ones. I prefer the latter.
You could use BootCamp (http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/bootcamp.html) (a part of the Mac OS) which would mean you only have to procure a copy of Windows, and not the emulation software. The drawback is that Bootcamp is a dualboot solution, meaning you would need to restart your Mac every time you wanted to use Access.

gameon
18th March 2009, 09:23 AM
if you didnt want to load windows onto your mac just to access access files (hehe)
have a look at filemaker

Relational Database Products and Software | FileMaker (http://www.filemaker.com/products/)

alanthomasball
18th March 2009, 09:27 AM
Oh, and I was googoogoogling around and found the Walt Mossberg Q&A section of AllThingsD (http://mailbox.allthingsd.com/20061026/microsoft-access-mac/), which said what many Mac users are afraid to say to the few users who need to hear it:

That maybe, if you only work with one Windows based Application, the Mac isn't right for you.

Read on... (http://mailbox.allthingsd.com/20061026/microsoft-access-mac/)

That said, if Access is just a part of your broader computing needs, then Mac Away!

cbbob
18th March 2009, 02:50 PM
Thanks for the answers.