PDA

View Full Version : Currency conversion widget broken?



Squozen
2nd March 2009, 09:10 AM
Is anybody else seeing this kind of behaviour from their default OS X unit conversion widget?

http://pantsinmotion.com/files/wtfwidget.png

It's been broken on my machines for a while now.

Japester
2nd March 2009, 09:11 AM
I know. I priced something in British Pounds last night and was very pleased with the conversion rate, which was approximately $1AUS = 1.5GBP! At that rate, I would buy out Amazon.co.uk!

decryption
2nd March 2009, 09:12 AM
Yep - it's been busted for me for a while now :(

http://www.grabup.com/uploads/f36df201d05268f6355620bfaef3f7ee.png

Wally
2nd March 2009, 09:41 AM
Same here.

- - e r i k - -
2nd March 2009, 09:55 AM
Same. It's been busted since 10.5.4. No one could help. All the measures of deleting plists everywhere have been futile.

I'm just using the Calculator app now (or an iPhone app). I've given up :(

Rayd
2nd March 2009, 09:58 AM
Yep - it's been busted for me for a while now :(

http://www.grabup.com/uploads/f36df201d05268f6355620bfaef3f7ee.png

damn i got this same problem aswell....

goatcatcher
2nd March 2009, 10:31 AM
Noticed this last week. I think the 10.5.6 update busted it for me; worked fine 2 to 3 weeks ago.

Squozen
2nd March 2009, 12:03 PM
Same. It's been busted since 10.5.4. No one could help. All the measures of deleting plists everywhere have been futile.

I'm just using the Calculator app now (or an iPhone app). I've given up :(

It certainly hasn't been broken for me for that long - I'd say the 10.5.6 update timeframe sounds about right.

edit: Found a fix, tested, works.

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20090225162441861

Apparently it's to do with the Safari 4 beta. Not sure if I buy that. I think it was happening before I installed Safari 4.

zillatron
2nd March 2009, 12:24 PM
I had this issue when I installed the original Safari 4 developer preview....it fixed itself as soon as I went back to Safari 3.

Apparently it's not fixed yet! ;)
Z

NeoRicen
2nd March 2009, 12:35 PM
It certainly hasn't been broken for me for that long - I'd say the 10.5.6 update timeframe sounds about right.

edit: Found a fix, tested, works.

macosxhints.com - 10.5: Modify the Currency Converter widget's pop-ups (http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20090225162441861)

Apparently it's to do with the Safari 4 beta. Not sure if I buy that. I think it was happening before I installed Safari 4.
Works a treat. Thanks.

Wally
2nd March 2009, 12:54 PM
Works a treat. Thanks.

Same here! Thanks so much!

lavenlaar
3rd March 2009, 06:48 AM
i use the CURRENCY CONVERTER v1.1 by Paolo Grifantini (just noticed v2 out now) and never had any probs..
and actually shows as many currencies you like in a row... 1AUD = 7,962,160,827.29 WOW - a can of coke will cost you $15billion dollars :D

DomDom
3rd March 2009, 07:05 AM
I have a similar problem with Apod viewer. The widget is only 50 mm wide but the correct height so you only get the first 50 mm of the picture. This happened after I installed Safari 4.

Dom

shivstar
4th March 2009, 08:18 PM
i had the same problem after i installed Safari 4... the macosxhints work around worked perfectly!