PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop Colour Profiles + Save for Web....

forgie
18th February 2009, 12:53 PM
I'm pretty new to CS3, so bare with me. I'm doing a webpage design in Photoshop, and I am exporting slices of the page by copying, creating a new temp document, then doing a "Save for Web & Devices...". The reason I use that option for saving is that it gives good PNG compression. If I do a save as, I get a PNG that is 4-5x larger in file size. The only thing is, when I "Save for Web", the colours don't look the same. I don't really know what I'm doing when it comes to colour profiles, but is there some way I can do a compressed PNG export and have the image colours look the same in Safari as it does in Photoshop?

banjo
18th February 2009, 01:23 PM
What settings under Save for Web are you using? PNG-24? or PNG-8 with a restrictive web-safe colour pallet? Does the image preview in Save for Web look like your Photoshop file or the one you see in Safari?

You don't get to choose the colour profile when using Save for Web, however you do when you create the PSD. As you create a new file you can set the colour profile for it under the advanced settings. You should always set it to sRGB when designing for the web.

forgie
18th February 2009, 02:13 PM
I am exporting with PNG-24, alpha enabled, interlaced.

Also, when I do a normal "save as" PNG, it looks right in Safari, but wrong (as though it was exported via "Save for Web") in Firefox. Is this because Safari supports embedded colour profiles, but Firefox doesn't?

geektechnu
18th February 2009, 02:45 PM
I always put PNG images through PNGGauntlet (Windows GUI for the PNGCrush (http://pmt.sourceforge.net/pngcrush/) commandline tool).
Don't know if there's a Mac port of this :|

It will strip out the gamma correction data that is causing problems.
It will also optimise the PNG compression to save you 10-20% in filesize.

banjo
18th February 2009, 03:49 PM