PDA

View Full Version : **ding**ding** 12" Vs 14"/15"?

tikEK
17th May 2005, 08:32 PM
OK here's the deal.

I want to get rid of my dust encrusted 400 MHz G4 w 320MB/20Gb
and upgrade to either a 12/14" ibook, or 12/15" pbook w superdrive and possible ram upgrade.

$$ are always a factor, so would i regret either of the 12" - screen size etc??
I'd appreciate what peoples thoughts may be, i'm a designer by trade, so would be using it for freelance jobs, webdesign, video, idvd, bit of final cut pro, but nothing in the video/dvd side of things is highend. Digital footage of the kids burnt to dvd...:rolleyes:

Any help appreciated.
cheers

ps. I did a search and have read several 'like topics' but none directly related.....

mvjs
17th May 2005, 08:36 PM
Get the 15 inch powerbook if you have the cash or get the 12

the_OM
17th May 2005, 08:37 PM
If your a designer the 15''
You'll benefit from the extra screenspace.

raj
17th May 2005, 08:38 PM
12" would kill you if you're designing things, however if you got the 12" powerbook you could at least use an extra monitor and dual screen them. The iBook can't do that.

Personally the iBook doesn't even enter my realm of thought and I'm a web designer for a living. It just doesn't have the power, guts or screen size to satisfy my working habits.

But if cash is a factor (as it always is unfortunately) you have to do the best you can and which case go with a 14" iBook.

dangelovich
17th May 2005, 09:07 PM
I've got a 12" iBook, and have found it great... but I do wish I had more screen real estate... A higher res screen would be handy, but at that size, it would be difficult to see.
I think the only solution is to go for the bigger screen.
If you're going for a powerbook, go the 15".
If you go the iBook, I think the new ones are expected soon, and I've read rumors about a 15" widescreen model... might be worth waiting.
http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/ rates the iBooks as "Don't Buy - Updates Soon"

v1llage1d1ot