PDA

View Full Version : Strange browser problems



sighclops
12th January 2009, 12:39 AM
hi all

i have called upon mactalk's infinite wisdom to help me with this hair-wrenching drama. i have two problems with my browser(s) at the moment and i've tried looking through network preferences / browser settings / mactalk's search pages but have had no luck. here's what's up:

1. safari constantly crashes. and i mean constantly, especially when i try to watch flash vids (youtube etc) and close windows/tabs. i've reset the browser in settings, no luck.

2. this one's a strange problem. for some reason, ALL search engines won't load, even the obscure ones (going a few days with no search functionality has driven me NUTS). this is accross both safari and firefox. also, youtube loads, but in html code. (looks like it was made in 1995 or something) and i can't view anything.

any help would be awesome, thnx people!

Currawong
12th January 2009, 03:19 PM
Can you post a crash log (up to the "Thread X crashed" block of text) for us to look at? They can be found in your user folder -> Library -> Logs -> Crash Reporter.

I'll tell you one thing for sure now, your flash player will be out of date and you should go to Adobe.com to download an updated version of it.

Kevin
13th January 2009, 11:04 PM
Test in new user account

If the issue occurs, reinstall Safari and update the Adobe flash player.

If it doesn't, remove ~/library/caches folder and ~/library/preferences/com.apple.safari.plist and reboot machine.

- In regards to the second issue, seems to be multiple applications...not a clue how to resolve that one lol.

sighclops
14th January 2009, 06:09 PM
Can you post a crash log (up to the "Thread X crashed" block of text) for us to look at? They can be found in your user folder -> Library -> Logs -> Crash Reporter.

I'll tell you one thing for sure now, your flash player will be out of date and you should go to Adobe.com to download an updated version of it.

sorry currawong, when do i check the logs? when it happens or doesn't timing matter? about flash, i installed the latest version recently because it was requested by firefox. (i've always had the safari problem, tho) ahh this is straaaaange lol

Currawong
14th January 2009, 06:54 PM
sorry currawong, when do i check the logs? when it happens or doesn't timing matter? about flash, i installed the latest version recently because it was requested by firefox. (i've always had the safari problem, tho) ahh this is straaaaange lol

After the crash, it saves a log with the date, time and details of the crash. You'll find it where I suggested. :)

sighclops
1st February 2009, 02:53 AM
here's the crash log (in part):

Process: Safari [337]
Path: /Applications/Safari.app/Contents/MacOS/Safari
Identifier: com.apple.Safari
Version: 3.2.1 (5525.27.1)
Build Info: WebBrowser-55252701~1
Code Type: X86 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [104]

Date/Time: 2009-01-15 11:13:03.680 +1100
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.5.6 (9G55)
Report Version: 6

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000020
Crashed Thread: 0

do u need the whole thing?

also, would this search engine prob be something to do with my network preferences? i haven't been able to use google.com (or any other search engine) OR youtube for two weeks....

Back2Bedlam
1st February 2009, 08:37 AM
do u need the whole thing?

I'm sure it would be beneficial :rolleyes:


QUOTE=sighclops;738802]also, would this search engine prob be something to do with my network preferences? i haven't been able to use google.com (or any other search engine) OR youtube for two weeks....[/QUOTE]


Would suggest one question at a time :)

sighclops
7th February 2009, 12:25 AM
here we go, sorry bout the delay:

Process: Safari [337]
Path: /Applications/Safari.app/Contents/MacOS/Safari
Identifier: com.apple.Safari
Version: 3.2.1 (5525.27.1)
Build Info: WebBrowser-55252701~1
Code Type: X86 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [104]

Date/Time: 2009-01-15 11:13:03.680 +1100
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.5.6 (9G55)
Report Version: 6

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGBUS)
Exception Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE at 0x0000000000000020
Crashed Thread: 0

Thread 0 Crashed:
0 libobjc.A.dylib 0x945d0688 objc_msgSend + 24
1 com.apple.AppKit 0x95224eb4 -[NSView dealloc] + 46
2 com.apple.AppKit 0x953ac7cf -[NSScrollView dealloc] + 257
3 com.apple.Foundation 0x92756e4f NSPopAutoreleasePool + 431
4 com.apple.Safari 0x0003bf91 0x1000 + 241553
5 com.apple.Foundation 0x92756e4f NSPopAutoreleasePool + 431
6 com.apple.AppKit 0x952276cc -[NSApplication run] + 892
7 com.apple.AppKit 0x951f48a4 NSApplicationMain + 574
8 com.apple.Safari 0x000b9b16 0x1000 + 756502

Thread 1:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x910463ae __semwait_signal + 10
1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070d0d pthread_cond_wait$UNIX2003 + 73
2 com.apple.WebCore 0x939818ff WebCore::IconDatabase::syncThreadMainLoop() + 239
3 com.apple.WebCore 0x9393a065 WebCore::IconDatabase::iconDatabaseSyncThread() + 181
4 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
5 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

Thread 2:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9103f1c6 mach_msg_trap + 10
1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x910469bc mach_msg + 72
2 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x95dd60ae CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 1790
3 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x95dd6cd8 CFRunLoopRunInMode + 88
4 com.apple.CFNetwork 0x92cb8052 CFURLCacheWorkerThread(void*) + 396
5 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
6 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

Thread 3:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x910463ae __semwait_signal + 10
1 com.apple.Foundation 0x927f89a1 +[NSThread sleepUntilDate:] + 97
2 net.culater.PithHelmet 0x002b7bcb -[PHVersionController _thread_delayedCheckVersion] + 139
3 com.apple.Foundation 0x9275b7ed -[NSThread main] + 45
4 com.apple.Foundation 0x9275b394 __NSThread__main__ + 308
5 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
6 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

Thread 4:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9103f1c6 mach_msg_trap + 10
1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x910469bc mach_msg + 72
2 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x95dd60ae CFRunLoopRunSpecific + 1790
3 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x95dd6cd8 CFRunLoopRunInMode + 88
4 com.apple.Foundation 0x927bed40 +[NSURLConnection(NSURLConnectionReallyInternal) _resourceLoadLoop:] + 320
5 com.apple.Foundation 0x9275b7ed -[NSThread main] + 45
6 com.apple.Foundation 0x9275b394 __NSThread__main__ + 308
7 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
8 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

Thread 5:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9108e6f2 select$DARWIN_EXTSN + 10
1 libSystem.B.dylib 0x91070095 _pthread_start + 321
2 libSystem.B.dylib 0x9106ff52 thread_start + 34

Thread 0 crashed with X86 Thread State (32-bit):
eax: 0x0d733270 ebx: 0x95224ef4 ecx: 0x9466c334 edx: 0x00000000
edi: 0x00000000 esi: 0x00000000 ebp: 0xbffff6e8 esp: 0xbffff678
ss: 0x0000001f efl: 0x00010202 eip: 0x945d0688 cs: 0x00000017
ds: 0x0000001f es: 0x0000001f fs: 0x00000000 gs: 0x00000037
cr2: 0x00000020

still got no google / yahoo / all other search engines :( youtube loads in html even with the latest ver of flash...

sighclops
8th February 2009, 09:52 PM
thread bumped


hellooooooooooooooooo...

chrome
9th February 2009, 10:57 AM
Try moving everything from /Library/Internet Plug-Ins and ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins

(just move it all to a folder on the desktop or something).

Also, move everything from /Library/InputManagers and ~/Library/InputManagers

Restart the machine and give it a try. Obviously any plugins will not work, but thats fine for now. Report back on results!

sighclops
9th February 2009, 11:57 PM
Try moving everything from /Library/Internet Plug-Ins and ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins

(just move it all to a folder on the desktop or something).

Also, move everything from /Library/InputManagers and ~/Library/InputManagers

Restart the machine and give it a try. Obviously any plugins will not work, but thats fine for now. Report back on results!

sorry i'm not quite sure i follow u, /Library and ~/Library? is that the diff between Macintosh HD/Library and (username)/Library? is there a diff? ahhhh :(

i've had no google / youtube for almost a month ffs!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Currawong
10th February 2009, 12:36 AM
A single tilda "~" is shorthand for your home folder. So chrome means both the Macintosh HD -> Library and your home folder's Library folder.

sighclops
10th February 2009, 01:43 AM
Try moving everything from /Library/Internet Plug-Ins and ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins

(just move it all to a folder on the desktop or something).

Also, move everything from /Library/InputManagers and ~/Library/InputManagers

Restart the machine and give it a try. Obviously any plugins will not work, but thats fine for now. Report back on results!

thanks for clarifying, currawong. ummm 2 things:

1. there were no files in ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins and no ~/Library/InputManagers folder

2. tried the above mentioned steps, no luck :(

here's what my youtube page looks like:

http://members.optusnet.com.au/peta7/YouTube.jpg

and google (and any other search engine)

http://members.optusnet.com.au/peta7/Page%20Load%20Error.jpg

this happens in both firefox AND safari.

chrome
10th February 2009, 08:05 AM
Can you connect to google.com via telnet?

Open Terminal, type


telnet www.google.com 80

then type "GET /" and hit enter. Stuff will come back. It should look like this:


[chrome@hydra] ~$ telnet www.google.com 80
Trying 66.249.89.147...
Connected to www.l.google.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
GET /
<HTML><HEAD><meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html;charset=utf-8">
<TITLE>302 Moved</TITLE></HEAD><BODY>
<H1>302 Moved</H1>
The document has moved
<A HREF="http://www.google.com.au/">here</A>.
</BODY></HTML>
Connection closed by foreign host.

If that doesn't work then its not your mac. Its your network. If it does work, then something is seriously screwed on your mac, and you should do an archive & install: Mac OS X: About the Archive and Install feature (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1710)

ClockWork
10th February 2009, 09:32 AM
Guys - your answers are too complex. You're assuming the OP knows this terminology.

But I agree with Chrome.

To Sighclops:

With nothing open except for your Desktop, click once on the top menu item called: Go. You'll see it up there between View and Window.

Click once on the Go menu item and scroll down to: Utilities.

The Utilities window opens. Inside Utilities, locate and open an application called: Terminal.

In the Terminal window, just type:

ping www .google .com

(I've typed the ping above with spaces in the google address, because MacTalk won't let the address come out, as seen, yet you must type it into the Terminal as the word: ping - followed by one space, and then the google address all as one line).

then press the return key on your keyboard, and watch what the Terminal window does.

Let it do what ever it does for around 20 seconds.

To stop it, hold down your :cmd: key in combination with the [.] key - (the full stop key). This will stop the Terminal from spitting out lines of information.

Then copy and paste what you see there, back into here.

You can then Quit the Terminal.

bennyling
10th February 2009, 06:50 PM
This is bizzare.

Sighclops isn't the only one having this issue with YouTube not working properly - for me, it loads like it's 1985 (or whatever year the saying's from)... Google however, works fine.

For example - this Youtube vid loads like this:
http://www.freshbytes.com.au/images/skitch/youtubewocss-20090210-193845.jpg

When obviously, it should load like the normal Youtube that we all know and love...

Heh - it's now fixed as I was writing this post. Did a little detective work - found out that my IP address is 192.168.0.3 - when it should have been 192.168.0.2.

Due to the way I've setup my LAN, I've got static IPs for internal machines - most of the time, it works flawlessly, but sometimes you have to disconnect and reconnect to the network to get it to get the right IP from the router (which is, incidentally, a Netgear DG834G).

Anyway - in my block sites I've got YouTube listed (yeah, don't ask), but to allow trusted IPs (192.168.0.2 being one of them) to visit all websites, regardless of blocked or not.

So I guess it was my firewall that was causing the fuss - even though it let text through, and not anything else. Oh - and I could also watch YouTube vids when they were embedded in Facebook pages, for example.

So strange - but problem solved. Hope this helps someone else.

sighclops
10th February 2009, 11:55 PM
bennyling, cheers mate, here's the results:

jeimuzu-3:~ jeimuzu$ telnet Google (http://www.google.com) 80
get /
Trying 66.249.89.147...
telnet: connect to address 66.249.89.147: Connection refused
Trying 66.249.89.99...
telnet: connect to address 66.249.89.99: Connection refused
Trying 66.249.89.104...
telnet: connect to address 66.249.89.104: Connection refused
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host
jeimuzu-3:~ jeimuzu$ get /
-bash: get: command not found
jeimuzu-3:~ jeimuzu$


thanks heaps clockwork! i just gave it a go, here's what i got:

Last login: Wed Feb 11 22:50:23 on ttys000
jeimuzu-3:~ jeimuzu$ ping Google (http://www.google.com)
PING Google (http://www.l.google.com) (66.249.89.147): 56 data bytes
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
ping: sendto: No route to host
^C
--- Google (http://www.l.google.com) ping statistics ---
17 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

something that's bothering me, what is that "3" next to my username? i can see it in finder also ( as "jeimuzu (3)" ) . does it mean 3 users connected?!

ClockWork
11th February 2009, 07:13 AM
Right - so when the Terminal keeps spitting out: No route to host - it effectively means there's something not quite right with either your Apple's IP Address, or your Modem.

Do as Bennyling did.

Click on your top-left Apple menu and scroll down to: System Preferences...

In the System Preferences window, click once on: Network - under heading: Internet & Network.

At the bottom right of the Network window, click once on the: Advanced... button.

In the next drop down window, click once on the tab named: TCP/IP.

In the TCP/IP window, what are the settings next to:

Configure IPv4:
IPv4 Address:
Subnet Mask:
Router:
Configure IPv6:

?

cw

chrome
11th February 2009, 07:42 AM
well, obviously his network settings are ok, or he wouldn't be posting here.

I'd be resetting the modem and any other network devices he has and then, after that, rebooting the mac, and seeing if that fixes it.

sighclops
13th February 2009, 02:27 AM
ok an update

i reset the modem / hub, reset safari, got google working (on safari only, still no luck with firefox). except, youtube and all other search engines (ie yahoo) still don't work. i ran bootcamp, and both google and youtube worked in windows with no problems.

the strange thing is, in osx it says i have flash 10 and it runs any other flash vids fine, just won't load youtube in anything other than html -_-

i'm wondering if i should just reformat -_-

ClockWork
14th February 2009, 05:51 AM
Go into System Preferences, click on: Accounts, create a new User Account and call it: Test - or something like that, give it full user administrations, log into it and try accessing YouTube using Safari or Firefox in that new "Test" account.

If it works, can only presume that your current user account has certain preferences that are blocking sites.

sighclops
21st February 2009, 02:29 AM
Go into System Preferences, click on: Accounts, create a new User Account and call it: Test - or something like that, give it full user administrations, log into it and try accessing YouTube using Safari or Firefox in that new "Test" account.

If it works, can only presume that your current user account has certain preferences that are blocking sites.

thanks for the tip

i did try it, but got the same result unfortunately. i even went as far as deleting all adobe folders and reinstalling flash, but still no luck (with the youtube issue)

the reformat (last resort) is getting more and more tempting (as tiresome as it will be....)

sighclops
5th March 2009, 06:01 AM
ANYONE?!

in regards to the google (+ others) problem i've narrowed it down to the net connection. everything works fine in bootcamp.

so to recap, i can't connect to any search engine sites, youtube doesn't work and itunes has decided to refuse connections to selected podcasts (mactalk being one of them! ohnoes!)

seriously, WTF is going on? could it be something to do with ports? it seems to be picking and choosing what it allows and disallows....

macrich
5th March 2009, 06:09 AM
I had the same problem with youtube once myself. Didn't have any of the connection issues you're having though.

It turned out that there were a few fonts that were corrupted on my machine. These were causing the pages in Safari to display incorrectly. Had you been adding or removing fonts?

The other thing you may want to try is an archive and install of OS X. This will clear up any software issues.
(That's if you haven't tried resetting all of your equipment).

tcn33
5th March 2009, 06:10 AM
Installed PeerGuardian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PeerGuardian) or anything similar recently?

sighclops
5th March 2009, 06:30 AM
thanks for replying guys.


I had the same problem with youtube once myself. Didn't have any of the connection issues you're having though.

It turned out that there were a few fonts that were corrupted on my machine. These were causing the pages in Safari to display incorrectly. Had you been adding or removing fonts?

The other thing you may want to try is an archive and install of OS X. This will clear up any software issues.
(That's if you haven't tried resetting all of your equipment).

umm.. nah i wouldn't touch the system folder with a 10 foot pole. does an archive & install wipe everything? (in other words, what is it actually archiving?)


Installed PeerGuardian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PeerGuardian) or anything similar recently?

i've had PG for over a year, i did recently try hotspot shield (i heard a few ppl talking about it) but i only ran that once and for about 10 seconds. i had the problem before this though...

tcn33
5th March 2009, 07:36 AM
Just for giggles, disable PG and see if it still happens.

sighclops
7th March 2009, 01:43 AM
Just for giggles, disable PG and see if it still happens.

oh my god.... IT WORKED! it was the "webspider & bots" filter in PG... which also affected youtube. oh man I LOVE YOU! thanks a mill!