PDA

View Full Version : Dropped Phone...eeep

Smartin
6th January 2009, 09:33 AM
Hi all - complete noob. Cant find too much in the threads.

Just dropped my 3g iphone (from around shoulder height) directly onto the road. The DLO Jam Jacket seems to have saved it from any external damage, however (cue, heartbreak), trying to start it only reveals a static white screen. Can reboot, but it only produces the same screen. Unable to receive calls. No insurance.

Is all hope lost???

mallo
6th January 2009, 09:38 AM
can it receive calls? the reason I ask, is if it can, then put insurance on it ASAP, for instance, if the headset that came with it, is plugged in, and someone calls you, can you still answer with the remote clicker on the headset?

PatrickH
6th January 2009, 09:40 AM
Something (obviously) was knocked loose internally.

Take it to get repaired somewhere. I'm not sure what's in Adelaide, but the best place to go would be where you bought the phone intially.

@mallo, they said that they couldn't recieve calls, just a static screen.

Smartin
6th January 2009, 09:53 AM
Something (obviously) was knocked loose internally.

Take it to get repaired somewhere. I'm not sure what's in Adelaide, but the best place to go would be where you bought the phone intially.

@mallo, they said that they couldn't recieve calls, just a static screen.

Thanks to you both. Yep, unable to receive anything (not a pleasant feeling when Voicemail kicks in). Will try the repair avenue, but from trawling through the forums that seems a) expensive and b) unlikely to help.

Open to any suggestions though :confused:

Cheers

PatrickH
6th January 2009, 09:57 AM
If you had an Apple store near you, you could of have it been looked at and given a quote for a repair.

Try looking for repair places near you and get a quote.

mallo
6th January 2009, 09:57 AM
Sorry mate, did read the post properly.

Give this a go, this guy had a review done on him in the age recently,