PDA

View Full Version : Camera not found



Hollieella
28th December 2008, 07:58 PM
Hi

Have just purchased Canon powershot a470 camera & have loaded all software on mac however i obtain"camera not found" error message????????. I have another camera & this works fine.
Any help appreciated

cosmichobo
28th December 2008, 08:44 PM
Does the camera's memory stick mount onto the desktop when you plug it into your Mac?

timothy
28th December 2008, 08:46 PM
Try quitting all the Canon software
Remove the camera
Open iPhoto and in the Preferences check what it says
http://img.skitch.com/20081228-d248uxdtk5itki3k9rn7prpgm5.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/timothy/9wu6/general)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/timothy/9wu6/general) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com).

Then try again. I would recommend using iPhoto over the Canon software.
hope this helps.

Edit: As Cosmichobo has mentioned the memory, If it hasn't got a memory card in it then the camera's built in storage may not show up.

Hollieella
28th December 2008, 09:17 PM
Try quitting all the Canon software
Remove the camera
Open iPhoto and in the Preferences check what it says
http://img.skitch.com/20081228-d248uxdtk5itki3k9rn7prpgm5.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/timothy/9wu6/general)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/timothy/9wu6/general) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com).

Then try again. I would recommend using iPhoto over the Canon software.
hope this helps.

Edit: As Cosmichobo has mentioned the memory, If it hasn't got a memory card in it then the camera's built in storage may not show up.

Hollieella
28th December 2008, 09:21 PM
thanks-Camera has memory card but nothing appears on desktop when i plug into usb port. Have changed preferences on iphoto but to no avail.

timothy
28th December 2008, 09:31 PM
It would have to be the cable...

Do you know this USB cable works? Do you have another cable/device to test?

Edit: Are you plugging in the camera and then turning the camera on? If the camera is not on it will not be seen.

And restarting the Mac is always an option.

jubilantjeremy
28th December 2008, 10:49 PM
Click the top-left apple icon, then About this Mac, More Info.

Anything under USB?

jonargall
29th December 2008, 01:48 PM
Also try the "Image Capture" application in the Applications folder

Hollieella
3rd January 2009, 01:31 PM
Thanks for advice but found out that camera is damaged. Canon will have alook for $60 & may not refund should they consider not their fault-not bad considering camera is brand new!!!!!!

stewy38
4th January 2009, 08:06 AM
Thanks for advice but found out that camera is damaged. Canon will have alook for $60 & may not refund should they consider not their fault-not bad considering camera is brand new!!!!!!

Canon expect you to pay $60 to look at & no refund for a brand new camera, Something wrong with that. if no damage was done by you Canon should either refund your money or replace the camera.