PDA

View Full Version : Activation/Unlocking major help needed

jackal424
28th December 2008, 08:11 AM
Okay, so I'm really really new to this. So dont all beat me up at once.

What I bought: A used 2g Iphone (previously under att)
What I want to do: Use it on tmobile
Symptoms:
1) iTunes says "Activate your new phone"
2) QuickPwn does not enter DFU mode.

When I first got the phone, I think I made a mistake and did a complete reset data and settings. So now the phone stays at the slider screen and remains locked. I cant even do the stupid *3001... thing.

So I think it's because my phone is not activated.

That leads to first question,
1) do I need this to be activated first through ATT before I can use it on tmobile sim card?

Assuming I dont, I proceeded to using quickpwn 2.2.

going through all the correct procedures as outlined by iClarified. When it's time to do the whole home/power key interactions, this thing fails every single time. I cant get it to get in that mode.

This leads to my second question,

2) Do I need any sim cards to do this? I bought this as a gift, so I dont have his tmobile sim card nor do I have an att sim card. I just want to be able to give it to him and have him insert his tmobile sim and it work right from the beginning.

I've read everywhere how people can force restore mode and turn off phone and stuff, but the phone just stays at the slider screen no matter how long I hold down the power button (it dims, ,but I dont think it goes off).

What am I missing?
please please please help.

matthew858
28th December 2008, 08:14 AM
No, the phone doesn't have to be activated to be able to unlock it.

The reason that QuickPwn is failing may be because that you are using a Mac with 10.5.6. This version breaks DFU mode, something needed to jailbreak iPhones. The only solution is to use a Windows computer with Pwnage Tool for Windows, or a Leopard Mac that is on 10.5.5 or earlier.

jackal424
28th December 2008, 08:16 AM