PDA

View Full Version : Nikon D40 - Suggestions for editing with photoshop?

unique10000
22nd December 2008, 10:49 AM
Hi guys,

Took some photos with my D40. I am an amateur. Comments re photographing technique and suggestions for photoshop editing most welcome
Thanks

Photos are here: Amaterasu Blog (http://amaterasu-photos.blogspot.com/)

mjankor
22nd December 2008, 11:55 AM
For the first three, especially the vineyard one, I'd use a much smaller aperture to expand the depth of field. That would remove that "out of focus" feeling that's present even though you've clearly focused on something specific.

For 4 and 5 (sunrise and tree) I think they are just boring photos. (I do a lot of them too :D ) They lack an object of interest.

The flowerpot (6) I like, but it could do with a smidge smaller aperture to bring those close leaves into focus.

For the fence posts (7) I'd like to see the whole line in focus. My eye was drawn along the line, but I was left disappointed when they went out of focus. This photo I'd also shoot from a step backward and crop afterwards. The gap by the posts on the left side is a bit distracting, but I can't tell whether or cropping it out or expanding it would improve it.

For 8, I find it to be a fairly uninteresting photo. Sorry. :D

For 9 (fountain) I really like it. My eye was drawn from the fountain back to the cool looking building. However, I'd also like to see it lit from the front, maybe with a softer light. This might also hide the pond pumps and other stuff in the fountain. It might work better shot at a different time of the day.

10 Wine-barrels. - I don't know. That's not really a type of photo I can imagine how to shoot. Take lots of shots from all over the place and see which you like. :D

I think the change I'd make most would be to use a smaller aperture for landscape style shots and only use a large aperture when you're trying to focus attention on one subject. Other than that, take lots of photos.

PS