PDA

View Full Version : Installer Default Language Not English



Lumus
21st December 2008, 04:59 PM
Hey Guys,

In the last few days whenever I run an installer the default language is Dutch (or Netherlands).

http://img.skitch.com/20081221-dkknssfjii3623rgacpn6cyeem.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/lumus/9rc5/install-remote-desktop-connection)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/lumus/9rc5/install-remote-desktop-connection) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

I don't speak dutch, and some programs are installing with dutch names.

http://img.skitch.com/20081221-1iseiq5wk97u2n88debdysdmr7.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/lumus/9rc9/applications)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/lumus/9rc9/applications) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

Any clues on how to fix it? I've looked through all the settings I could find in System Prefs. and everything says either English or Australia

Currawong
21st December 2008, 06:59 PM
Does it do this if you log in as another user?

Lumus
21st December 2008, 07:40 PM
Just tried it then and it's in English.

tintinaujapon
21st December 2008, 09:08 PM
What if you change that drop down menu to English?

Lumus
22nd December 2008, 10:10 AM
What if you change that drop down menu to English?

It works, but it's frustrating living in Austarlia and having to select English every time I install anything (and in some cases renaming Apps)

samuelowens
22nd December 2008, 10:22 AM
What does the International Prefpane have to say about default languages?

Lumus
22nd December 2008, 10:56 AM
This

http://img.skitch.com/20081222-8fp7xeaad1kfes8bp68qguxk9x.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/lumus/9gnd/international)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/lumus/9gnd/international) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

samuelowens
22nd December 2008, 11:09 AM
This

http://img.skitch.com/20081222-8fp7xeaad1kfes8bp68qguxk9x.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/lumus/9gnd/international)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/lumus/9gnd/international) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

So there's no plain 'English' then?

That's probably the problem. In the absence of specific Australian English and Danish language files, it will default to Dutch for the installation.

Lumus
22nd December 2008, 11:14 AM
So there's no plain 'English' then?

That's probably the problem. In the absence of specific Australian English and Danish language files, it will default to Dutch for the installation.

THANKYOU! I deleted it thinking it wasn't necessary as I assumed Australian English was good enough.