PDA

View Full Version : suitable hdd for Powerbook Lombard



hasanito
15th December 2008, 12:15 PM
G'day
I've got an older Powebook G3 400 Lombard sitting in its laptop case, collecting dust. I've wanted to start using it but its old 2GB hdd is dying. I've tried connecting a 200GB brand new ide hdd but it didn't work. Since then I've tried few other new hdds from 120 to 200gb sizes, all no joy.

Are there a particular specifications for what type of ide hdd works with this brand of powerbook?

rpjallan
15th December 2008, 12:23 PM
I put an 80GB Samsung drive in my Pismo about 2 years ago. Works great. Should work in a Lombard also. I'm not sure of the max size drive for these...

tempestas
15th December 2008, 12:58 PM
I've got a 40Gb running in a Lombard just fine, you might like to checkout EveryMac (http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powerbook_g3/stats/powerbook_g3_400.html) to see what is compatible but an IDE ATAII is what you want.

They run Panther just fine if you have 512Mb of RAM.

Brains
15th December 2008, 03:00 PM
hasanito: the old black PowerBooks' IDE controller is old, and has two major limitations:
1) maximum capacity is 120 GB, and
2) any drive used must be "ATA/5 compliant". Pretty much ever drive made in the last four years is ATA/6 and most of those are not backwards-compatible with ATA/5.

You would have to hunt around for a second-hand 20, 40 or 80 GB drive that's at least two years old, and stick to Hitachi and Fujitsu brands, as both companies kept ATA/5 compatibility in their drives until just recently. Western Digital and Seagate should be avoided unless you find a 20 GB model (they all had ATA/5 mode), Samsung can be hit-and-miss. I'm not aware of any 120 GB drive with ATA/5.

hasanito
16th December 2008, 01:15 PM
hasanito: the old black PowerBooks' IDE controller is old, and has two major limitations:
1) maximum capacity is 120 GB, and
2) any drive used must be "ATA/5 compliant". Pretty much ever drive made in the last four years is ATA/6 and most of those are not backwards-compatible with ATA/5.


Forgive my ignorance but is ATA/5 same as Mode 5 Ultra ATA, right?

I've found this 120GB Western Digital hdd with following specs (for a whopping $118)
WD Scorpio Blue 120 GB EIDE Hard Drives ( WD1200BEVE ) (http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=164)

That seem to fit the description, I think?

Brains
16th December 2008, 04:43 PM
Funnily enough, no. Ultra ATA Mode 5 is part of the ATA/6 spec, which sports a 100 Mbps transfer rate. ATA/5 is UDMA 4, with a 66 MBps transfer rate.

The WD drive you found can only talk at 100 MBps.

See this page (http://www.pctechguide.com/12Interfaces_Ultra_ATA.htm) for a description of what the various modes equate to, and why.