PDA

View Full Version : Tft Monitors.



Eurosnob
11th May 2005, 05:42 PM
Does anyone know if all the lovely cheap PC flat screen monitors work on macs?

Are they just plug and play (I have 10.3.4 & a flashed PC Radeon 7000 DVI & Analogue plugs) or are drivers required for certain brands?

Or can someone point me to an existing thread about this?

Thanks.

Euro.

OziMac
11th May 2005, 06:08 PM
I don't know if there's an existing thread, but there;s a fairly simple answer - yes.

Obviosuly, so long as you have the correct connector to your graphics card (whether that be VGA or DVI - obviously no PC monitor would have ADC), then you'll be right as rain :)

Eurosnob
11th May 2005, 06:33 PM
Thanks,

Time to get busy on eBay.

gelfie
11th May 2005, 06:52 PM
Monitors do not need drivers. Ever. All the "Driver" does in windows is specify the maximum refresh rate and resolution of the monitor.

If you know these figures, and really you should, then you can just pick them from the Displays preference pane.

Windows has a lot to answer for.

Gelfie

crankyfranky
11th May 2005, 07:00 PM
Remember, as with most other things in life, size does matter!

Get the biggest you can afford.

I was in Dick Smith today and they were selling 17 inch Samsungs for $399.

spargo
11th May 2005, 07:21 PM
I might just add to this one by saying that the Apple notebook range also supports what you'd call 'plug and play' of monitors, provided you use the appropriate DVI-VGA adaptor/connector for your screen (please check your individual Notebook - the cable connection available/required varies between iBooks (http://www.apple.com.au/ibook/graphics.html) & and the different PowerBook (http://www.apple.com.au/powerbook/graphics.html) models)

The Powerbooks are capable of spanning across a second screen, and i've used both TFT's & CRT's to do this on mine, and also a data thrower as a second screen for PowerPoint, while on the other screen I was reading the notes for my meeting/presentation - a very effective tool for presenting to a large crowd, and the punters always 'ooh and ahh' at the glowing logo on the back of the screen..

A second screen is also very useful if you are doing projects in iDVD or Garageband, where you want to be dragging and dropping from say iPhoto or iTunes open in the other screen, avoiding the need for Exposť all the time.

If you intend getting a second screen for your notebook, I personally recommend getting an iCurve, by Griffin Technologies - their website (http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/icurve) has all the info on why you should blow $100+ for a piece of plastic.. (that was for you Ozi!)

http://www.griffintechnology.com/images/products/prod_icurve_lcd.jpg

osxuser
11th May 2005, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by gelfie@May 11 2005, 06:52 PM
Monitors do not need drivers. Ever. All the "Driver" does in windows is specify the maximum refresh rate and resolution of the monitor.

If you know these figures, and really you should, then you can just pick them from the Displays preference pane.

Windows has a lot to answer for.

Gelfie
its quite a statement, I must admit ;)

Eurosnob
14th May 2005, 03:14 PM
All right, an update,

I now have a 2nd hand (1 yr old) 17" TFT monitor. The manual says that it is compatible with IBM, VGA, VESA & Macintosh standards (15 pin plug, not DVI).

When I plug it in however I get the startup screen & the spinning whatsit under the grey apple. When it reaches the next phase of the boot cycle I get a blank screen with an out of range error.

I've plugged the old CRT minitor in and changed the resolutions & scan rates but I still get the same "error."

Has anyone else encountered this?

Euro.

mac_man_luke
14th May 2005, 03:34 PM
Try plugging it in and then zap the pram and it should reset the resolutions and reprobe at startup for that monitor

downsys
14th May 2005, 03:59 PM
which system u using btw?

mvjs
14th May 2005, 04:15 PM
Firstly, Moniters do need drivers, which set the frame rate, compadible reselutions etc.

Secondly, CitySoftware (http://www.citysoftware.com) (In Melbourne and Sydney) sell very cheap moniters, check them out.

downsys
14th May 2005, 04:24 PM
actually, u michael gave the wrong link, it's www.citysoftware.com.au . and yeah, the monitors are looking cheap (but not cheap looking). the same Samsung DS are selling for $399, they're doing it for $345! 17" model.

Eurosnob
18th May 2005, 10:06 AM
It's working now. Zapping the Pram ws the fix.

Downsys, its&#39; a G3/400 with 10.3.9 & a flashed 32Mb Radeon 7000 (Evil Wizard - <Insert evil laughter here>).

Euro.