PDA

View Full Version : Netstat Widget



marc
9th May 2005, 02:02 AM
http://www.obliquemusic.co.uk/forumimages/netstat_mock.png

This handy little widget allows you to view the IP Address and the amount of data transfered for each active network interface. It supports ethernet, airport and firewire and allows you to have multiples of each one.

Grab it from the usual place... www.islayer.net (http://www.islayer.net)

http://www.obliquemusic.co.uk/forumimages/netstat_icon.png

See you with another one soon.

marc
9th May 2005, 02:12 AM
Btw, those are made up IPs ;)

aswitcher
9th May 2005, 06:24 AM
Originally posted by marc@May 9 2005, 02:02 AM
http://www.obliquemusic.co.uk/forumimages/netstat_mock.png

This handy little widget allows you to view the IP Address and the amount of data transfered for each active network interface. It supports ethernet, airport and firewire and allows you to have multiples of each one.

Grab it from the usual place... www.islayer.net (http://www.islayer.net)

http://www.obliquemusic.co.uk/forumimages/netstat_icon.png

See you with another one soon.
Nice widget.

Anychance of a whois reverse lookup as well so I know who is supplying my internet when I am on wifi?

iSlayer
9th May 2005, 08:38 AM
Originally posted by aswitcher@May 9 2005, 07:24 AM
Nice widget.

Anychance of a whois reverse lookup as well so I know who is supplying my internet when I am on wifi?
no plans at this stage.....

queraxus
9th May 2005, 08:47 AM
Fantastic widget. Thanks.

iSlayer
9th May 2005, 08:51 AM
just to let everyone know i will be doing a slightly modified version of this widget that will also show internode usage stats for those of us who are with internode

josh64
9th May 2005, 10:33 AM
Has anyone else been able to get these working with Case Sensitive HSF+ ?

marc
9th May 2005, 10:44 PM
I have no idea what you're talking about!

sikosis
10th May 2005, 11:58 AM
Nice widget :thumbup:

Squozen
10th May 2005, 12:03 PM
Very nice. I'm guessing there's no way to reset stats to zero with the method you're using?

edit: Just checked the source, and answered my own question.. :P

iSlayer
10th May 2005, 12:53 PM
well i can make it reset to zero if you can give me a good reason why :)

TorranceTM
10th May 2005, 01:11 PM
Ability to reset to zero would be handy when calculating an applications bandwidth usage (without having to write down & calculate before and after numbers).

iSlayer
10th May 2005, 01:14 PM
thats what i expected you to say :)
will be added in a future release.

cuaza
10th May 2005, 01:28 PM
great widget there!

thanks

how about a widget that lets u see how many Mpb ur airport is currently running?

is there a way to do that?

iSlayer
10th May 2005, 01:31 PM
not that i know of

iSlayer
10th May 2005, 03:55 PM
The next major revision of NetStat support IPv6 and it will allow you to copy ip's to the clipboard

Should be out tonight

The Architect.mac
10th May 2005, 04:39 PM
Awesome widgets :thumbup:
Bit of a silly question- will the new downloaded versions go straight over the older ones or should they be removed first?

Cheers

iSlayer
10th May 2005, 04:49 PM
old ones need to be deleted.
the are in ~/library/widgets/

josh64
10th May 2005, 07:03 PM
Originally posted by josh64@May 9 2005, 10:33 AM
Has anyone else been able to get these working with Case Sensitive HSF+ ?
errr I mean Case Sensitive HFS+
The filesystem.

All of the bundled widgets work fine, but I can't get any of yours to work.

EDIT: I tried a few widgets from the apple downloads section too and they all worked fine.

iSlayer
10th May 2005, 10:12 PM
i have an idea what might be causing it.ill get back to you tomorrow

marc
10th May 2005, 10:17 PM
Version 2 of NetStat is out.

It adds support for IPv6 and allows you to copy an IP to the clipboard by clicking on the camera icon next to each IP.

http://www.obliquemusic.co.uk/forumimages/netstat2.png

Same bat channel : www.islayer.net (http://www.islayer.net)

sikosis
11th May 2005, 09:59 AM
nice ... the only problem I see with widgets, is that new ones will come out and you won't know when a new one is available.

Pity the dashboard doesn't have more control over it ... or if there was a Dashboard manager app that checked this stuff ...

iSlayer
11th May 2005, 10:09 AM
thats a feature Marc and i discussed last night.
it will be in future releases