PDA

View Full Version : Can't get Skype to stay in the dock



dt
21st November 2008, 08:01 AM
Every time I try to drag Skype.app into the dock, it stays there for a few seconds then "poofs" off to the right without me doing anything. I've had Skype in the dock for this whole year, and this just started happening yesterday, so it's not an issue of me running it from the dmg or something.

I've tried to capture a video of it happening, so hopefully this works:

fkLQ2aAiQms

I do have MobileMe, but I have Dock Syncing turned off:

http://img.skitch.com/20081120-cqpbhedbeb8mdt3gwwaee7xrrw.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/nickdowse/h8ru/picture-2)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/nickdowse/h8ru/picture-2) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)

I've rebooted and repaired permissions, but that's all I've tried as I'm not sure what else I can do.

Any tips?

dt
22nd November 2008, 10:44 AM
Bumpzies!

DJY
22nd November 2008, 04:23 PM
Rather than drag it to the dock...
double click on it (to open the app)
then once it is open - have you tried right clicking on the icon, and selecting the "Keep In Dock" option?

DeanCorp
22nd November 2008, 04:34 PM
You can also try re-downloading Skype. There may be a newer version of this that fixes this "bug." I know you said it has been working fine for ages. Very possibly, the file got corrupted somehow.

dt
22nd November 2008, 04:50 PM
Rather than drag it to the dock...
double click on it (to open the app)
then once it is open - have you tried right clicking on the icon, and selecting the "Keep In Dock" option?

Good idea... but it only says Remove From Dock, no Keep in Dock in sight :(

http://img.skitch.com/20081122-cup73mms316pxdrrdn1arq28ye.preview.jpg (http://skitch.com/nickdowse/hm1t/picture-3)
Click for full size (http://skitch.com/nickdowse/hm1t/picture-3) - Uploaded with plasq (http://plasq.com)'s Skitch (http://skitch.com)


You can also try re-downloading Skype. There may be a newer version of this that fixes this "bug." I know you said it has been working fine for ages. Very possibly, the file got corrupted somehow.

Tried this. No luck.

DeanCorp
22nd November 2008, 04:53 PM
Try Repairing Disk/Permissions.

LennyX
22nd November 2008, 05:02 PM
Try deleting the preference files for it. They're located here:

/Library/Preferences/com.skype.skype.plist
~/Library/Preferences/com.skype.skype.plist
~/Library/Preferences/com.skype.skype.plist