PDA

View Full Version : Faxing from OSX leopard: Help please

microportal
14th November 2008, 09:03 AM
i guys i need help to send faxes from my mac...no idea on how to do so. Is there away to do so without using/buying external software in OsX 10.5? If so please hellp :)

rpjallan
14th November 2008, 09:23 AM
The first thing you need to send/receive faxes is a dial up modem...

Geoff3DMN
14th November 2008, 09:37 AM
It is possible to use an email to fax gateway service instead of a dial up modem.

I've been using mBox for a couple of years for sending work faxes and it's been trouble free. In addition to the traditional computer/email fax solution they've recently introduced an iPhone app as well.

mBox - Fax to Email, Virtual Fax, Voicemail to Email, Internet Fax, Email to Fax, Email to SMS (http://www.mbox.com.au/)

If you are a low volume user and don't want a subscription plan then UTBox works fine.

UTBox |Internet Fax, including Fax by Email, Fax Broadcasting and sending and receiving SMS from PC (http://www.utbox.net/)too.

Neither of these solutions requires buying or using external software as you just use your standard email program to create and send the faxes.

Currawong
14th November 2008, 10:16 AM
If you have a modem, or another mac has a modem, you can print to fax from the print dialogue. To fax through the modem of another mac, that mac needs to be sharing printers.

grfxninja
14th November 2008, 10:28 AM
That really isn't helpful. Not everything can be done by email. the OP may run a business where faxing is still required as I do…

EDIT: And for the record, I ended up buying a Fax/Scanner/Printer thingy that plugs into my USB port. Saved me a lot of stuffing around.

microportal
14th November 2008, 10:28 AM
Thanks for all that guys, been trying to fax through the internal modem but kept coming up with a fax protocol error(!?WTF) i will now look into ubox.