PDA

View Full Version : My New 12inch Pb!

shtan72
6th May 2005, 09:52 AM
Got my pb yesterday finally! I'm new to Mac so it was a memorable day. To my surprise, it came with a full Tiger CD with it (the reseller said I would have to pay $14.95 to have it sent), so bonus! A few things I'd like to know from the more experienced:
1. Was dissapointed quicktime can't play in fullscreen. Do you know of any freeware that allows me to do this?
2. How do you display a jpeg photo in fullscreen by itself?
3. When I run slideshow for pictures, its gorgeous but theres a line at the top of the screen that flickers constantly when the pictures pan across. Does anyone else find it irritating?
4. Am thinking of just placing the pb in my generic laptop bag(which is much bigger than the pb), do I still need a case for it (eg Bitolith?).....does the pb scratch easily in other words?
5. Max battery life I could get with full charge was 3.5 hours (according to meter), is that about right?
6. Spotlight is absolutely brilliant, never seen anything like it in PC....apple is on a winner (beats the hell out of google desktop).
7. Widgets are limited, where can I get Aussie widgets on the net?
8. It is truly plug and play! Recognized my canon ixus and canon printer immediately.
9. IT HAS VOICE RECOGNITION for simple commands, which is a pleasant bonus.

Hobart
6th May 2005, 09:57 AM
congrats man, unfortunatly im new to macs also so im not of much help but i have been wondering some of the same questions as you too.

On-Site-Tec
6th May 2005, 10:14 AM
http://www.dashboardwidgets.com < Lots of Widgets, Some are the same as the apple site.
http://www.videolan.org < QT Alternative, Best Media Player&#33;
http://www.laptopbags.com.au/listing.php?k...LT_LAPTOP_GLOVE (http://www.laptopbags.com.au/listing.php?keywords=&category=LAPTOPBAGS&subcategory=LT_LAPTOP_GLOVE) < Best protection for your PowerBook so you can chuck it in any bag you like :) Well worth it&#33;

Matt.

king89