PDA

View Full Version : Powerbook

iwill
5th May 2005, 09:53 PM
Hi... i'm new to this forum and in the market for a 12" Combo drive Powerbook.
I've had a play with this wonderful machine at the nextbyte store in the City and LOVE it. :D

I was just wondering what sort of wait i'd be looking at, if I get an extra 512mb of ram put in, on the order.

It will be around 6-8 weeks before I get the Powerbook, so should I order it now to hopefully lessen the waiting time?
Do they know what the waiting time is, even?

Also, the price listed on the Apple store site for the 12" Combo PB is $2399. I am a Year 12 student; so would i be eligible for the student discount? And if so, what sort of price would i be looking at?

One more thing... is this 12" 1.5ghz PB a Rev-D model? The whole Rev things are a bit beyond me at the moment. :huh:

Thanks in advance,

Will Gormly.

OziMac
5th May 2005, 10:15 PM
Hi - welcome to the forums (and the stock answer).

It's useful to use the search function in the top right corner of the window to search for previous discussions. This particular discussion has been tread before.

In answer to your specific queries -

1) The wait on the store appears to be 5-7 days, which means if you order from Apple Australia, it'll probably take about a week or two for your Powerbook to arrive. However, you could probably walk into a reseller and they will install the RAM for you on the spot and you can walk out with your Powerbook that day. Ask around the shops, call Apple Australia, do a little bit of research. You don't really need to plan that far ahead - usually shipments are quite prompt (though unusual delays have been known to happen occasionally).

2) Make sure you read Apple's education store policy. As a year 12 student you are NOT eligible for the education price. Sorry. Find a mate who's at uni - though remember the warranty will be in their name.