PDA

View Full Version : VMWare Fusion and printer problems

hermeneutics
28th October 2008, 09:45 PM
Hi!

I am a new Mac User (well I used to use them quite a bit in the early 1990s but I'm new to Mac OSX)

I have networked my Mac Book Pro onto my wireless LAN. It talks quite nicely with my 3 other PCs running Win XP, and has no problem printing to my Brother HL-1430 laser printer which is connected to one of these other PCs.

However, I also have VMWare Fusion running Windows XP. In the XP VM, my printer appears to be visible and connected, but when I print to it--although it appears to queue the file--nothing actually happens! No printed file! No error messages!

The printer is listed in the "Printers and Faxes" dialog as:
Brother HL-1430#:1,
Status=Ready,
Comments=Printer created by TPAutoConnect,
Location=0;
Model=TP PS Driver <very long hex no.>

It was automatically created and setup when I created my XP VM.

What is going on?

I have noticed that several other people have had similar (but not identical problems) with VMWare Fusion and networked printers, but I can't find an appropriate fix for my problem.

Any ideas, anyone?

cheers,
Andrew

hermeneutics
31st October 2008, 01:32 AM
Thanks for all the replies! NOT!

I solved the problem myself.

1. Goto Virtual Machine->Network Adaptor and select Bridged.
2. Configure network in XP VM as if it were a stand-alone PC ie. give it manual IP address etc. or use DHCP.
3. In XP VM, browse to shared printer using Explorer (Entire Network....etc), and drag it into Control Panel Printers and Faxes folder.
4. Printer driver installs, and you're ready to go!

cheers,
Andrew

craigc
31st October 2008, 07:12 AM
Thanks for all the replies! NOT!

I solved the problem myself.

1. Goto Virtual Machine->Network Adaptor and select Bridged.
2. Configure network in XP VM as if it were a stand-alone PC ie. give it manual IP address etc. or use DHCP.