PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Applescript

kurisu
4th October 2008, 11:30 PM
HI there,

I want to extract keywords from a CSV file to a text file, and in turn to put all the keywords in the text file to spotlight comment. One line from applescript is:
do shell script "echo " & quoted form of formatted_keyword & ">>" & text_file
where formatted_keyword = the individuals keywords and text_file is the filename of the output file.

However, it seems like the applescript I'm fiddling with insert the keyword with "return key" in between, so the text file is something like:

*blank with return keystoke*
&KeywordA
&KeywordB
&KeywordC
&KeywordD

Is it possible to convert this textfile with applescript to become something like this:

&KeywordA &KeywordB &KeywordC &KeywordD

I just started learning applescript few days ago, so I'm sorry if this is a stupid straight-forward question.

P.S. do shell script "echo " & quoted form of formatted_keyword & ">>" & text_file
Cheers,
Chris

kurisu
6th October 2008, 07:28 AM
no one?

stewiesno1
6th October 2008, 08:18 AM
I'm no Applescript user kurisu but I remember seeing a part of Apples forums ( Apple-Support-Discussions ) had a dedicated Applescript page...
Apple - Support - Discussions - AppleScript (http://discussions.apple.com/forum.jspa?forumID=724)
Maybe post this question there and I am sure one of the gurus would be able to post some info for you.

Stewie

Venom71
6th October 2008, 08:30 AM
Applescript Forums | MacScripter / AppleScript | OS X (http://bbs.macscripter.net/viewforum.php?id=2)

Nevets_Anderson
8th October 2008, 06:02 AM
It's a bit early so my brain may not be much use - From what I can see and understand, The issue is with the embeded shell script your using not the actual applescript

If you open terminal and just do an

echo "my bit of text" >> mytextfile.txt
echo "my bit of text2" >> mytextfile.txt

Then it's the shell script thats putting the return into the code