PDA

View Full Version : An Apple Powerbook 12 Inch Or A Hp Tablet Pc

tub_vwj
30th April 2005, 10:48 AM
Hi guys,

I am currently a full time uni student and was wondering what your tips would be regarding laptops/tablet pc's. I need something lightweight, excellent performance, and value for money. At the moment, I am considering a powerbook @ a special price of approx. $2500, whereas the tablet pc is approx $3700. I have been a PC user in the past and would also like to change to something new and different, but the question remains "are the benefits of an apple better than a tablet pc?

Thanks.

OziMac
30th April 2005, 11:00 AM
Okay - for starters, welcome to the forums, but you've posted this topic twice - no need to get over excited!

Second, in my own opinion, I think tablets are a waste of time, particularly for uni students. They are just as big as laptops (or bulkier), less durable, and don't really distinguish themselves in any particular way to make them any better-suited to your run of the mill note-taking functions - and certainly not for the price differential.

I don't really know what you mean by 'are the benefits of an apple better than a tablet pc' - but I would think that the stability, ease and use and functionality of a Mac laptop supercedes the PC equivalent for student purposes, yes. And by this, I would include note-taking in class (Word, especially the notepad and audio recording functions), ease of use for music/photos/multimedia (iTunes, iPhoto, Quicktime), good searching capabilities to find notes/files you've lost (Spotlight) and presentations (Powerpoint or Keynote), and if necessary, lab results (Excel). If you're super keen or study design, Photoshop is also a boon.

I had a Compaq for many years at uni, but was stymied by the fact that it would crash, was unreliable and that I would lose data all the time. This all ended when I switched to an iBook.