PDA

View Full Version : Time machine



basseyy
21st September 2008, 04:09 PM
Hi guys... I am buying a MBP soon, and have backed up my current iMac on time machine.

Will the time machine on the MBP read the backup from my iMac so i can restore my stuff?

TIA

Huy
21st September 2008, 04:10 PM
Answer: Yes. You will be asked this when you boot up your MBP. Plug in your TM drive (unplug from iMac) and off you go.

I have done this many times (iMac to MB, MB/Black, MBA).
My iMac is my only desktop machine which is the 'master' copy.

basseyy
21st September 2008, 04:13 PM
Thanks Huy :), the Oracle has spoken !!!

Huy
21st September 2008, 04:17 PM
Don't forget to wait until the new MBP comes out, before you buy. Unless you need it ASAP (maybe not?).

I'm also on the lookout for a new MB/MBP next month or whenever they come out. :)

p.s. we have almost identical gear!
I have the same spec iMac but in 24" (down to 4GB/500GB BTO).
But you have a 16GB White iPhone and I have 8GB in Black.

Reubania
21st September 2008, 04:18 PM
The Oracle owns a Mac! :thumbup:

Huy
21st September 2008, 04:20 PM
The Oracle owns a Mac! :thumbup:
Oracle (www.oracle.com) CEO (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Larry_Ellison) is friends with Apple (www.apple.com) CEO (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Jobs). :p

ClockWork
21st September 2008, 05:08 PM
Though after myriad problems (http://forums.mactalk.com.au/13/51822-time-machine-playing-silly-buggers.html) with Time Machine, I'm starting to think SuperDuper! (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html) is the soundest method of backup.

Let's say... some point in the future - your MBPs HDD dies. The backed up content will be a real bitch to get back from a Time Machine archive, yet a total breeze to retrieve with SuperDuper! (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html)

cw

Aladdin
21st September 2008, 10:34 PM
I'd suggest using Migration Assistant to move your stuff across from the iMac to your new MBP.

It is by far the easiest way.

Tiprya
21st September 2008, 10:42 PM
Though after myriad problems (http://forums.mactalk.com.au/13/51822-time-machine-playing-silly-buggers.html) with Time Machine, I'm starting to think SuperDuper! (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html) is the soundest method of backup.

Let's say... some point in the future - your MBPs HDD dies. The backed up content will be a real bitch to get back from a Time Machine archive, yet a total breeze to retrieve with SuperDuper! (http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html)

cw

I've formatted hard drives and restored from Time Machine backups and its exactly the same as I left it - and exactly the same had I used SuperDuper clone.

As in Time Machine lets you restore from backups exactly as you left it.

Theres no point using SuperDuper anymore unless you want multiple bootable images of your drive from different times - for most people, having a restorable volume from the last backup is sufficient.

Aladdin
21st September 2008, 10:55 PM
Ah yes, that is true, but how long does TM take to restore a backup compared to SuperDuper?

james the 2nd
21st September 2008, 11:03 PM
Oh, this is cool.

I wasn't aware that Time Machine makes a complete clone. So, to be clear, if my hard drive dies, what's the process in restoring from a time machine backup?

Do I put in a new drive and upon boot it asks if I want to restore? (I'm guessing as I haven't used TM before..)

Tiprya
21st September 2008, 11:05 PM
Ah yes, that is true, but how long does TM take to restore a backup compared to SuperDuper?

I can't see it taking any extra time - just the time it takes to transfer the 200gb or whatever of stuff to the new hard drive.

Tiprya
21st September 2008, 11:07 PM
Oh, this is cool.

I wasn't aware that Time Machine makes a complete clone. So, to be clear, if my hard drive dies, what's the process in restoring from a time machine backup?

Do I put in a new drive and upon boot it asks if I want to restore? (I'm guessing as I haven't used TM before..)

You boot from the Leopard disc, format the drive with disk utility -then restart and boot from the Leopard disc again (if you dont do this it doesn't recognise the new drive which is stupid)

Then go to the menu and theres a "Restore from Time machine Backup" option.

This leads you through easy prompts and youre done!

It doesn't make a complete clone 'per se' but for all intents and purposes it is the same if you need to restore.

james the 2nd
21st September 2008, 11:27 PM
You boot from the Leopard disc, format the drive with disk utility -then restart and boot from the Leopard disc again (if you dont do this it doesn't recognise the new drive which is stupid)

Then go to the menu and theres a "Restore from Time machine Backup" option.

This leads you through easy prompts and youre done!

It doesn't make a complete clone 'per se' but for all intents and purposes it is the same if you need to restore.

So basically all my programs, preferences,etc,etc would be back and I'd be up an running in the time it takes to restore?..

This is great news!

One further question, can you use the same Time Machine to backup multiple macs. For instance can it keep a backup of my MBP as well as my iMac? Or do I need separate drives/ time machines for this purpose?

I'm guessing whenever you'd need to restore it would ask you from which backup you wish to restore (if it does allow multiple machine backups)?

Huy
21st September 2008, 11:34 PM
Yes. Everything is backed up and yes you can be up and running on a brand new machine or completely fresh Leopard install in the time it takes to restore from backup.

And yes, Time Machine can be used to backup multiple Macs. That is what Time Capsule does (wirelessly). You can also 'share' the same hard drive by plugging it into many Macs physically and backing them up. Assuming you have the storage space.

Therefore, yes, it can keep multiple Macs backed up to 1 or 100 drives depending on how many you have and whether you want to plug them into each machine all the time (invest in Time Capsule to save trouble).

And yes, it does ask you which backup you wish to restore from, out of the available backups (from the same drive, if many Mac backups are present).

james the 2nd
21st September 2008, 11:36 PM
Yes. Everything is backed up and yes you can be up and running on a brand new machine or completely fresh Leopard install in the time it takes to restore from backup.

And yes, Time Machine can be used to backup multiple Macs. That is what Time Capsule does (wirelessly). You can also 'share' the same hard drive by plugging it into many Macs physically and backing them up. Assuming you have the storage space.

Therefore, yes, it can keep multiple Macs backed up to 1 or 100 drives depending on how many you have and whether you want to plug them into each machine all the time (invest in Time Capsule to save trouble).

And yes, it does ask you which backup you wish to restore from, out of the available backups (from the same drive, if many Mac backups are present).

Thanks Huy, this is really cool. :thumbup:

I was always under the impression you couldn't restore a complete drive from it. I'm glad I've been misinformed.

Currawong
22nd September 2008, 12:30 AM
I've just added this info to the Time Machine FAQ (http://forums.mactalk.com.au/20/39540-time-machine-faq-your-questions-answered.html).