PDA

View Full Version : Give me one good reason...

DMaxx
20th May 2004, 03:44 PM
Hi guys,

I am a PC user, but unlike all other PC users i know, i am not here to bag out macs at all. Infact i am looking for inspiration to join the "dark side".

I am a uni student at RMIT in melbourne doing a double comp sci/communication engineering degree, and i have become increasingly more interested in buying a laptop to do uni work on. I simply put love the iBooks and PowerBooks in respect to there appearance and also there portability. I spose all i am really writing here for is to get a good idea from people who already live and breathe the technology into how good it really is, so i have a couple of questions!
FYI, i am considering buying a 12" iBook G4s.

1. What is the story with IDE's for programming languages like C, Java etc?
2. If networked to a PC with a shared printer (or any shared resource) can the mac make use of it?
3. What is the staple software diet of a mac user (what software does everyone have)?
4. What minimum specs are normal these days (RAM etc)?
5. How good is the virtual PC s/ware, and is it really necessary?
6. How easy is it to use UNIX s/ware under OS X?

Thanx to you all for putting up with this complete noob (or should that be nob?), the only reason i ask these questions is that i have no time at the moment to do all the indepth research, with exams rapidly approaching, time is of the essence... but i guess when i get my laptop that'll be different!

Cheers for now,
DMaxx

Damian
20th May 2004, 04:02 PM

Xcode comes with OS X on the deveoper CD. C/C++ / Java

2. If networked to a PC with a shared printer (or any shared resource) can the mac make use of it?

Yes. Easy access to shared drives/ most printers. Active Directory client is available if needed.

3. What is the staple software diet of a mac user (what software does everyone have)?