PDA

View Full Version : Installing OS X from network

Byrd
20th May 2004, 09:35 AM
Hello,

I've recently resurrected my clamshell iBook 300 (thanks to mivory in the FS section :)), and am keen to install OS X 10.3 onto it. I know it won't be that speedy, but with a new 20GB HD and 288MB of RAM, it should handle it OK.

The problem is that my iBook has a flaky CD drive which refuses to read some CDs, which of course means my 10.3 install discs (which work fine on any other machine) refuse to install OS X. I've cleaned the CD lens, which makes it a bit better, but still dies halfway during the install.

The iBook has been updated to the latest firmware, and by holding down 'N' at startup I can get a flashing netboot icon.

How can I ...
- Install OS X via netboot onto the iBook, if I have the CD mounted onto my B&W G3 (using a crossover cable between the two machines). I'm fairly new to OS X, so am unsure how to share the drive to let the iBook detect and boot from it.

- If not, can I install OS X onto the 20GB HD on my B&W, connected by a 2.5"--> 3.5" adaptor, then plug it back into the iBook? Would I install a lot of superfluous crap by doing this?

Thanks,

JB

cmetom
20th May 2004, 10:46 AM
Originally posted by bYrd@May 20 2004, 10:35 AM

I've recently resurrected my clamshell iBook 300 (thanks to mivory in the FS section :)), and am keen to install OS X 10.3 onto it. I know it won't be that speedy, but with a new 20GB HD and 288MB of RAM, it should handle it OK.

- If not, can I install OS X onto the 20GB HD on my B&W, connected by a 2.5"--> 3.5" adaptor, then plug it back into the iBook? Would I install a lot of superfluous crap by doing this?

hello,

I reckon it WILL be speedy, or at least more than you think!!

anyway, i don't know how to do the network thing (i'm quite new to OSX), but from what I've seen, and my limited knowledge, I'd say there's a nice chance of the hdd-swap-thing working. don't forget - the best way to know is to try!!

good luck,
Tom