PDA

View Full Version : Os 9 - How Big?



MrHate
26th April 2005, 10:38 AM
Hey kids,

I've just bought a second hand iBook 600 with a 15gb hdd. I'd like to use ProTools Free from digi design but it only runs under OS 9 and apparently won't work while running under classic, which means I'll need to boot into OS 9 when I want to use it. That doesn't bother me, but what does bother me is that I tend to be quite heavy on my hard drives and don't really want to have an entire OS loaded just so I can use ProTools. So i'm wondering, how big is OS 9 exactly? if it isn't too large, I won't mind making the sacrifice to have it loaded.

Cheers!

Byrd
26th April 2005, 10:43 AM
It's about 150MB in it's Recommended install, but about half of that you won't need if you select Custom install.

It's usually around 70MB on the machines I've installed it on.

JB

MrHate
26th April 2005, 11:26 AM
70mb? Sounds great! I really don't need anything else except sound and the ability to run ProTools (as well as my iMic).

Thanks!