PDA

View Full Version : iPhone and iMac WiFi? Help?

Laragenics
29th August 2008, 06:06 PM
Hello again,

I am still quite new to the mac world I have recently switched from Windows and now have a new Intel iMac...

Okay so here's the question... How do I get my new iPhone and the iMac to connect wirelessly? This may seem so stupid but I haven't had much time to explore my mac yet. Believe me I am more than ready for this as I'm used to sitting down for hours on end trying to get something simple like a usb drive to work on my old pc (no it wasnt me it was the pc i am very computer literate and know what I am doing on a pc)... but not a mac... yet

Huy
29th August 2008, 06:07 PM
Turn on AirPort/WiFi.
Select Network.
Connect?

On my iMac (AirPort > Turn AirPort ON):

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/3883/bahib3.png

On my iPhone (Settings > WiFi > ON):

http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/8350/photoec6.jpg

If you mean iPhone <--> iMac wireless tethering then forget it.

Laragenics
29th August 2008, 06:15 PM
I have no networks to connect to

Huy
29th August 2008, 06:17 PM
Get yourself a wireless router/access point? (although if it was your own WLAN (wireless LAN) you'd know if it was using hidden SSID (network name) or not). In which case you'd hit Other... and punch in the details.

battye
29th August 2008, 06:20 PM
I managed to get this working thanks to those who helped me in this thread: http://forums.mactalk.com.au/47/55022-iphone-wi-fi.html

I remember I had to enable Internet Sharing in the settings, or else it wouldn't work. :)

Laragenics
29th August 2008, 06:27 PM
But then whats the point of the wifi/airport? shouldnt the iphone and imac just connect?

battye
29th August 2008, 06:29 PM
shouldnt the iphone and imac just connect?

They do. :)

Laragenics
29th August 2008, 06:30 PM
ah ok... I will have a look shortly and try to figure it out thanks guys.

Huy
29th August 2008, 06:35 PM