PDA

View Full Version : Tris Leaving The App Store

matthew858
26th August 2008, 07:05 AM
From Mac Rumors:

Noah Witherspoon, the developer behind the current #1 application on the App Store, has revealed that Tris [Free, App Store] will no longer be available as of Wednesday, August 27th.

The Tetris-clone caught the attention of the Tetris® Company who claims a "copyright" claim on the game. The trouble is, I'm a college student, and not an affluent one, and I simply do not have the time, energy, or resources to fight this battle right now. There's a point at which I am willing to give up and be practical, to let the world have its way with that ever-mistreated little ideal of “principle”. Thus, it's with great sadness that I must announce that I'll be pulling Tris from the App Store on Wednesday, August 27th, to remain in Apple's systems but publicly unavailable until I work out a solution to this.

As a result, if you had any interest in Tris, now's your last chance to get the popular game.

So get it while it's still there!

mechcon
26th August 2008, 07:28 AM
Fuck'em, those arseholes.. Unless they release Tetris in other store regions.. fuck'em, support Tris as much as you can folks..

decryption
26th August 2008, 07:31 AM
Well to be fair - Tetris is Tetris, you just can't go and make your own clone of a game and expect them not to do anything. Imagine you had a cool idea for a game and someone else started making copies of it with the same gameplay?

Sure, it's a bully tactic, but I'd probably do the same if I made Tetris and some dude was profiting off my idea.

SRG
26th August 2008, 07:50 AM
I agree Decryption however the small difference here is free. Still if I was Tetris and I intend brining out a version that would see me get this taken down. They just need to follow up by releasing a official version.

mechcon
26th August 2008, 07:58 AM