PDA

View Full Version : An iphone I can see but can't use! How the heck do I activate my SIM?



Chap
1st August 2008, 03:43 PM
My phone has arrived along with the Optus SIM.

The reciept says call 1800 555 050 to activate.

Nobody freaking abswers!

Help help help! Before it's the weekend and these lazy Optus bastards clock off!

Chap
1st August 2008, 05:16 PM
Come on! Someone who has been there / done this... help me!

mitty
1st August 2008, 05:18 PM
They are probably swamped because of the network problems. Just keep trying.

EDIT Btw you should still be able to put the sim in, sync with itunes and activate the phone. So you can at the least play with it even if you can't make calls. you only need a carrier sim to activate, it doesn't have to be connected (as far as I'm aware anyway).

how'd you get it sent to you anyway? Are they available online now? Or if bought from a shop, why didn't they activate for you when you were there?

Chap
1st August 2008, 05:27 PM
They are probably swamped because of the network problems. Just keep trying.

EDIT Btw you should still be able to put the sim in, sync with itunes and activate the phone. So you can at the least play with it even if you can't make calls. you only need a carrier sim to activate, it doesn't have to be connected (as far as I'm aware anyway).

how'd you get it sent to you anyway? Are they available online now? Or if bought from a shop, why didn't they activate for you when you were there?

Hey thanks.

Yeah I have been playing with it, but now I need more! I need phone and SMS!

I ordered directly over the phone with Optus on July 11.