PDA

View Full Version : How to - Play AppleTV Movie size on iPhone.



playa
1st August 2008, 06:37 AM
How to shrink the movie file down to ipod/iphone size, but keep the quality so it's OK for AppleTV

OK so what do you do if you want to get movies to play on your AppleTV and iPhone.

How to shrink the movie file down to ipod/iphone size, but keep the quality so it's OK for AppleTV on my 50" screen -----

How to

After playing around I've found that the Elgato Turbo.264 will do the job.

I've got the Turbo set to AppleTV High, and these movie files will work on the iPhone.

Example from my last movie file.

Total Bit Rate = 3409kbps
Video Dimension = 1385 x 550

The only issue is that these movies will look steched out if you play them on the MAC via itunes.

This was the same issue I'm having with EYETV.

The down side is that the movies are larger 2GB in size.
But if you have AppleTV and iPod / iPhone this will make it so you only need one format version of the movie.

WhiteiPhone
1st August 2008, 06:20 PM
VisualHub and set as Apple TV and quality at High....

elgato turbo is useless on intel macs (:

Walter Mitty
8th August 2008, 04:05 PM
I agree, VisualHub is the way to go, it also does batch processing. I ran 80 movies through it last week without issue.

Mac Ram
8th August 2008, 04:20 PM
VisualHub and set as Apple TV and quality at High....

elgato turbo is useless on intel macs (:

Useless as in no benefit (i.e. use of cpu) or useless as in no good?

grorr76
8th August 2008, 04:25 PM
Useless as in no benefit (i.e. use of cpu) or useless as in no good?

no benefit as to speed. especially for apple tv encodes

Mutters
8th August 2008, 04:27 PM
VisualHub and set as Apple TV and quality at High....

elgato turbo is useless on intel macs (:

That's strange???
Mine works brilliantly!
75 fps converting from EyeTV to iPod touch format on 2.4 Ghz MBP.:thumbup:

mutters

Cybix
8th August 2008, 04:37 PM
I use handbrake to rip my own DVD's using the "AppleTV" preset, of course, they will not play on the iPhone, too high res/quality.. I need something in between :)

NeoRicen
10th August 2008, 12:39 PM
Put it on All Devices and Go Nuts, that's the best quality you'll be able to get for the AppleTV but still work on the iPhone.

Alucard
26th October 2008, 11:59 AM
I use handbrake to rip my own DVD's using the "AppleTV" preset, of course, they will not play on the iPhone, too high res/quality.. I need something in between :)

When using handbrake, put it on ipod hi-rez.

This plays well on ipod touch/iphone/apple tv/ mac through quicktime or itunes.

Works for me.

scritch
26th October 2008, 05:36 PM
Whilst I don't use it very much, the benefit the Elgato turbo.264 offers on Intel Mac's is not increased speed for an encode, but consistent high speed no matter what you do.

As it is a co-processor, I can actually use VisualHub/Handbrake to encode one movie (using the system CPU), and turbo.264 to do another at exactly the same time with them both at full speed, and still be able to use my Mac.

Regards,
Shane.

entropy
26th October 2008, 05:46 PM
So I wonder why visualhub will no longer be updated?