PDA

View Full Version : Dude Its A Powerbook

nmreid
19th April 2005, 11:36 AM
Hi

I'm about to jump in and buy a Powerbook. My mate got me hooked on mac just a couple of months ago. Before that I hated mac, for no reason, but just didn't touch em. I'm a developer and I spend all day on a IBM PC programming and do alot of graphics design, web development and video production on my home PC. But now because of my good mate I'm hooked on Mac, keep looking at apple.com all day, so I have to fork out some money and buy one! But I have a couple of questions.

Powerbook sizes? I'm leaning towards a 17", but haven't seen on in real life to see how big it really is. Is it way too big? I never use public transport, drive everywhere, and if it is too big would it fit in a tralier? :) nuh just joking. Or should I think about a 15"?

Second, where should I get one? I live in Brisbane, should I just order at apple.com.au or go to a store?

Any tips...

designers_hub
19th April 2005, 11:40 AM
15inch.

17inch is really really big.

I wouldn't want to carry around a 17inch apple laptop its too big.

Find a store which is selling it for cheaper then call up apple.com.au and take the 10% discount offer. They will reduce the price for you under the competitor for up to 10%.

Big_J
19th April 2005, 11:40 AM
Wow! Sounds like your good mate is a total legend! B)

Disko
19th April 2005, 11:44 AM
Hey nmreid - welcome to appletalk.
(though i see you've been lurking for a month :ph34r: )

I love my 17". it isn't too big, and in my opinion the screen estate is very important for graphic design stuff. I couldn't handle being downsized to a 15 or 12 inch now.

Ultimately, it comes down to your choice - 15" or 17". (i wouldn't go 12 if you're planning any sort of design work)

nmreid
19th April 2005, 11:44 AM
hahaha don't get a big head Big J :P

nmreid
19th April 2005, 11:47 AM