PDA

View Full Version : Ordered My Ibook

xatz
17th April 2005, 09:53 PM
I just ordered my first mac, a 12 inch iBook.
I bumped the HDD up to 60G, and will install after market ram when I get it.
As soon as I get it I will fill the form in for Tiger up-to-date upgrade.

I can't wait to get a hold of it and play.:)
As I have used linux before I am particularly looking forward to using the terminal.
Are there any tips that you can give me on what to look out for when starting new with a fresh mac ?

I am studying Software Engineering and want to be a Unix/Linux programmer so this little machine should be great for coding on the bus and train. Are there any other coders here that can give me tips ?

I will post again when it arrives and tell you my first impressions.

Disko
17th April 2005, 10:15 PM
cool. :)

congrats xatz, hopefully it all works well. :)

Kildare
17th April 2005, 10:31 PM
I got mine a few weeks ago & love it. :)
Have a bit of Linux experience (Smoothwall / Slackware) however if you're going to be mucking around in the terminal a bit check out iTerm - much better interface.
http://iterm.sourceforge.net/

creativeshed
17th April 2005, 10:39 PM
Enjoy the experience!

thedragonreborn
18th April 2005, 09:41 PM
xatz,

you wont regret it at all, i found the transition easy, now when i go on XP i am always looking for the expose` features. I ordered my ibook on the 11/4 (recieved 3 days later) so i missed out on the cheap upgrade :(, but i am happy to chill on panther for a bit. I am studying maths, and use various programs like maple,matlab,opendx and other scientific programs and also write a heap of "C", a good site if you into coding is

http://hpc.sourceforge.net/

thats full of all the mac goodies for parallel programing and stuff. One thing i reckon you should revise environment varibles and $paths, as you usally have to set them yourself when you complile a *nix app, have fun anyhoo and welcome to the club

steve

xatz
19th April 2005, 03:18 PM