PDA

View Full Version : system 10.4 or 10.5 on emac?



needy
18th July 2008, 07:28 PM
Hi - does anyone know if I can run os 10.4 on an emac? 700MHz PowerPC 1GD SDRAM System 10.3.9 runs pretty well. Also - can adobe cs3 run on system 10.3 or 10.4
cheers,
Needy

denwol
18th July 2008, 07:49 PM
an emac will do 10.4 fairly easily with the 1gb.

cs3 needs 10.4.8

needy
18th July 2008, 07:53 PM
Thanks!

cmrn
18th July 2008, 07:54 PM
You should be able to run Mac OS X 10.4 on your eMac, however 10.5 needs a G4 867MHz processor of higher.

CS3 can run under 10.4 (but not 10.3), however I do not know how it will run with your processor speed.

needy
4th January 2009, 03:28 PM
Been awhile but...
CS3 runs quite well with the 700mhz with 10.4.11 installed - but it is sluggish. that has more or less always been the case with the EMAC so I don't notice it to much unless I have a lot open. I wonder if a larger HD would improve anything?

Byrd
4th January 2009, 08:45 PM
If you're running the stock HD in your eMac (eg. 40GB 5400RPM), upgrading to a 7200RPM IDE PATA drive will make a massive difference in performance. Getting to the hard disk is a bit painful in the first eMac models (the later ones are almost as bad!), but well worth the upgrading time spent.

JB

iJordie
4th January 2009, 08:55 PM
that was my old machine, I used it quite heavily too. I had FCP 4.0, Adobe CS2, Macromedia Stuio MX, logic and iLife 06). running on 10.4.6. Worked quite well.
Unfortunately this system falls below the minimum for CS3.but 10.4 should work quite well.