PDA

View Full Version : Iphone Developing for Dummies

mitty
18th July 2008, 12:08 PM
Okay. I'm reasonably interested in developing apps for the iphone. But I have no idea what kind of learning curve there is (more for me since I've only ever had PC's). Here is what I know so far:

a) i need a Mac (I'm prepared to make that sacrifice if it means fame and fortune lol)
b) Need to get the SDK and sign up for it which costs $99 I think?

So apart from this I don't know to much. My programming experience is basically limited to Visual Basic on the PC, nothing to major only a few simple apps over the years. Is the iphone SDK anything like VB or is it C or something like that?

I don't expect to be developing Super Monkey Ball or anything like that, I'm thinking more informational type apps like train timetables etc that run standalone on the phone not requiring a data connection.

I've done a bit of a search around but if anyone has any sort of complete NOOB app developers guides I'd appreciate any links/info that others can provide, and I'm sure there are others who are interested as well.

cerebus
18th July 2008, 12:13 PM
Start here (http://developer.apple.com/iphone/index.action). You won't have to pay the $99 yet until you actually want to publish software.

Quamen
18th July 2008, 12:16 PM
You should do the following:

1. Buy a mac
2. Read Amazon.com: Cocoa(R) Programming for Mac(R) OS X (3rd Edition): Aaron Hillegass: Books (http://www.amazon.com/Cocoa-Programming-Mac-OS-3rd/dp/0321503619/ref=pd_bbs_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1216347327&sr=1-1)
3. Visit iPhone Dev Center (http://developer.apple.com/iphone) and sign up for a developer account
4. Buy a paid developer account to test on hardware
5. Make software
6. profit!

Start here (http://developer.apple.com/iphone/index.action). You won't have to pay the $99 yet until you actually want to publish software.

Not true. You need to buy the paid iPhone developer membership if you want to test on real hardware.

mitty