PDA

View Full Version : Great App Idea!

cammo
14th July 2008, 10:10 PM
Well, at least I think it could be?

I am a pro photographer using a EOS 1DMKIII and a EOS 1DSMKIII. Unfortunately neither of these or any pro digital slr's include gps modules as standard. They can be purchased as an 'add-on' and they are literally added on to the side of the cameras, making them cumbersome and virtually unusable.

I am a current iPhone 1st Gen user and know that, like anyone with a mobile phone, it is ALWAYS no more than a metre from the camera at all times.

If you syncronized your camera's clock with the new 3G iPhone clock and you had an application that kept a simple log of gps coordinates, maybe every 15 seconds or so, when you get back to your computer you could syncronize this log with the time contained within the photo exif tags and update the exif tags with the gps coordinates. (Nearly all current digital photo files handle exif gps info tagging). This would then leave you with a set of photos with full geotagging.

Sound feasible? Anyone heard if there are plans for something like this? :confused:

Cam

marc
14th July 2008, 10:14 PM
Very tricky as it'd require an iPhone component and a Mac OS X component. Good idea though.

- - e r i k - -
14th July 2008, 11:19 PM
Not tricky at all. This is how external GPS modules work for cameras already. I was thinking the exact same thing yesterday morning.

adamd
14th July 2008, 11:24 PM
Not tricky at all. This is how external GPS modules work for cameras already. I was thinking the exact same thing yesterday morning.

You know what they say... Great minds think alike.

This would be awesome. Even though I don't have an iPhone (yet), it would be awesome to "GeoTag" images as they're taken. Would be a great demonstration of iPhone/Mac integration.

Yellow_Fuzzy
14th July 2008, 11:58 PM