PDA

View Full Version : No ambient temp on latest MBP (iStat menus)



markms
8th July 2008, 06:08 AM
Not seeing "ambient temperature" on my MacBook Pro (2.4GHz). I have the latest iStat Menus and it doesn't show up in the sensor selections area.

On my white iMac (Intel 2.16C2D), I do see the ambient temperature. Now my question: Is there a difference between a MBP and iMac in terms of the sensors? I used to own a 2.0GHz CD MBP on which I ran iStat Menus, but I can't remember if I saw ambient temps on it.

Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

kiji
30th June 2010, 01:35 PM
I suffer the same... istat menus v3.02 on Macbook pro i5 osx 10.6.4, 15inch.

cheers in advance for any information....

marc
30th June 2010, 01:44 PM
On my white iMac (Intel 2.16C2D), I do see the ambient temperature. Now my question: Is there a difference between a MBP and iMac in terms of the sensors?

It's very common for different models to have completely different sensors. I'm not sure about your specific MacBook Pro (we have a few MacBook Pros here for testing).

I don't have any ambient sensors listed here in iStat Menus 3, but I do have four enclosure sensors, which I assume are similar (ie they measure the general temp inside the case).