PDA

View Full Version : Remote Access for Mac

Turner44
1st July 2008, 06:14 PM
Dear All,

I'm new at this so play fair!

I am going away from my office for a month, and would like to have remote access to my PowerBook G4 that will constantly be connected in the office.

I will have my new MacBook with me, but as the PowerBook has all the office files, Accounting Software etc on it, I would like to be able to access this while I am away.

Is there any way to do this? I am aware of Back To My Mac, but as the PowerBook doesn't have Leopard, I believe this wont work.

Is there an application I can buy that will allow me to remotely access and use the PowerBook back in the office from my outside location?

Regards

Turner44

jeremy_warnock
1st July 2008, 06:23 PM
yes mate go to www.logmein.com for a free account. it works great

SyncMan
2nd July 2008, 07:26 AM
Apple Remote Desktop

VLC

But all will be totally pointless unless your connection at both ends and in-between is VERY good.

You would be better off taking a snapshot of your Powerbook G4 on a external HD. A complete one to one clone, absolutely no files missing! (ie Don't use the Finder for the copy, use something like Carbon Copy Cloner.)

avolve
2nd July 2008, 08:14 AM
To perhaps complicate this, i recently set up VNC of the chicken and enabled remote desktop. Whilst on the same network i can remotely access the target machine.

The issue is how to i maintain this from a distance given dynamic IP addresses. I have glanced at No-IP - Dynamic DNS, Static DNS for Your Dynamic IP (http://www.no-ip.com/) and DynDNS: DNS Hosting, Email Delivery and Other Services (http://www.dyndns.com/) (OS X compatible/).

Anyone have suggestions, comments based on experiences?

jeremy_warnock
2nd July 2008, 08:39 AM
Like I said above, I use www.logmein.com, its free, it never fails, machine just need to be on the net it works for both macs and pcs. I remote administrator about 15 machines with it

AnthoMac