PDA

View Full Version : IceTV Widget 2.1 beta



marc
5th June 2008, 04:07 PM
Time for another MacTalk exclusive beta.

There's 100s of small changes that have been made to this widget. However, the most noticeable big changes will be:

- It's now completely asynchronous. This means the widget does all it's updating in the background (except for the initial load).
- Recommendations have been added. A green star next to a show means we think you'll like it.
- Tighter integration with the new IceTV website.
- More interface animation, provided by the new animation engine (think Core Animation for widgets!).

All in all, the new widget is much, much quicker.

Please give it a test and let us know what you think.

Download the IceTV 2.1 Widget (http://www.icetv.com.au/widgetdownload.shtml)

Edit: I've updated the link to point to the final release. Thanks for everyone's help testing.

mvjs
5th June 2008, 04:27 PM
Yes, yes, yes! :D

Lightening fast. Amazing work.

marc
5th June 2008, 05:00 PM
For those with an IceTV account... try clicking the Record Once or Record Series button for a very sexy reveal animation. We have iSlayer to thank for that one!

Marvel at its brilliance here (http://homepage.mac.com/marcedwards/forumbits/recordreveal.mov) ;)

RGSX12
5th June 2008, 05:58 PM
Excellent work, so much faster and nicer to use :)

vargz
5th June 2008, 07:23 PM
A return to the smooth, slick, IceTV widget of yesteryear.

Amen :)

EDIT: .... the only thing is is missing is the buttons for moving back/forward through the days and hours - I preferred that system instead of the drop-down lists.

Cheese
5th June 2008, 07:35 PM
I can't fill out any forms on the site. Help?

gumby08
5th June 2008, 07:38 PM
This is great! No more waiting...waiting...waiting.... :)

grfxninja
5th June 2008, 07:41 PM
This is great! No more waiting...waiting...waiting.... :)

Bewdy! That was one of things starting to really frustrate me about the IceTV widget. Glad to see it's back to its old speedy self :thumbup:

Rayd
5th June 2008, 08:09 PM
AWSOME! this works flawlessly!

marc
5th June 2008, 08:12 PM
I can't fill out any forms on the site. Help?
So you don't have a free account?

I assume you're trying to fill out the form here with no luck: IceTV - Widget (http://www.icetv.com.au/cgi-bin/webwidget.cgi)

nicwithsticks
5th June 2008, 08:15 PM
Guys, well done. This is a million times faster then the older widget. It's one of my most used, so thanks for making it more user friendly.

Question though, Do we post bugs in here?

iSlayer
5th June 2008, 08:30 PM
Question though, Do we post bugs in here?

for this beta posting bugs here should be fine since i'm doing the code updates for this version.

DJY
5th June 2008, 08:34 PM
great work again guys!
Thanks

MrJesseRoss
5th June 2008, 08:48 PM
How snappy! Great work.

I'm glad to see that Play School is more popular than Law & Order SVU. What a programme.:)

ementis
5th June 2008, 09:10 PM
so far so good!

excellent work guys, love it!!

BrettJohn
5th June 2008, 09:53 PM
nice work. animations are wonderful!

me happy it's snappy :)

homodelphinus
5th June 2008, 09:55 PM
Is it possible to view the shows in time slots ie 7, 7:30, 8, 8:30 etc as opposed to stations like it was possible in the old widget?

marc
5th June 2008, 11:29 PM
Question though, Do we post bugs in here?
Please do.

We're going to be releasing this very soon (Monday maybe), so if anything gets found before then we'll fix it ASAP.

3dward_Shaddow
5th June 2008, 11:29 PM
400% better guys. Nice work.

I was two days away from removing the old one from my dashboard - it was taking ages to load.

dev_enter
5th June 2008, 11:48 PM
I can't authorise the widget.

It sends me to the IceTV website, where I enter my credentials, and it returns the error: "Unable to login. Please enter a valid User ID and Password."
Funnily enough, if I then click on "My Account" it shows me as being logged in and I can see all my account information. :)

Edit: I should add that I participated in the bulk buy of Pinnacle tuners a while back, and haven't actually ever bothered to log in the Ice TV website before. I think even the account was created for me but not by me.

marc
5th June 2008, 11:55 PM
For those wanting the day and time +/- buttons, I'm not sure if we will be adding them or not. It seems like there's a lot of people who love the "go to now" buttons and another group who love the +/-. I don't think we can sensibly do both. However... we can add some more keyboard shortcuts that cover those functions. It's looking like the final list of shortcuts will be:

Changing modes
1 or t = TV Guide
2 or p = Most Popular
3 or u = My Upcoming Shows
4 or m = My Shows
5 or r = Recommended
Left arrow = previous mode
Right arrow = next mode

Navigating time and day in the TV guide
Up arrow = minus 1 hour*
Down arrow = plus 1 hour*
Shift-up arrow = minus 1 day*
Shift-down arrow = plus 1 day*
n = Go to today and now*

Sheets
ESC, enter or return = close sheet

The ones marked with a star (*) haven't been implemented yet, but will be very soon.


Is it possible to view the shows in time slots ie 7, 7:30, 8, 8:30 etc as opposed to stations like it was possible in the old widget?
Sorry, but I don't think we'll be incorporating the old "all" view.


I can't authorise the widget.
Please PM me with your account name so I can look into it.

So... is anyone using the widget to record? Are recommendations showing up for people who have series records and/or favourites?

andrew.wilson
6th June 2008, 12:06 AM
Insanely quick now marc! Great work guys, can not thank you enough for such quality widgets.

I do sometimes miss the < and > arrows next to the time though, but I'll live.

Be sure to let me know when the final release is out - it definitely deserves front page news attention.

marc
6th June 2008, 12:33 AM
Thanks andrew. It'd be an honour to be on the front page!

mab
6th June 2008, 01:13 AM
Doesn't show channel 10 in Darwin is this coming soon?

marc
6th June 2008, 01:17 AM
I believe channel 10 in Darwin is about a month away. Please don't take that as gospel though... I'm not part of the guide team and don't really have any involvement in such things.

3dward_Shaddow
6th June 2008, 09:42 AM
So... is anyone using the widget to record? Are recommendations showing up for people who have series records and/or favourites?

I have several series set up to record, so far no recommendations (the recommendation tab is empty) also I'm still having the weird problem of random shows setting to record themselves and not being able to delete the schedule (although this is the first time in a while it's happened). I believe the random recording is to do with the way series are set-up and IceTV are working on it.

macaholic
6th June 2008, 09:50 AM
Love your work marc.

marc
6th June 2008, 11:11 AM
Love your work marc.
Thanks!

Please make sure you thank iSlayer and the guys at IceTV who've been working on the API as well! :)

marc
6th June 2008, 06:19 PM
Thanks for testing everyone. It's a HUGE help.

Release is on track for early next week. Please post if you find any problems so we can fix them :)

ementis
9th June 2008, 05:57 PM
looks like I just got the same problem i did with the last version.

http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/4951/icetvwg8.png


It seemed to be working fine, but i hadn't opened dashboard in a day or so (may or may not have anything to do with it)

a simple refresh fixed it.

encryptionmatrix
9th June 2008, 06:04 PM
I love this, as I was getting sick of having the updating sign every time I opened up Dashboard, this is way faster too. Keep up the good work :D

jbillett
9th June 2008, 06:09 PM
Install failed for me the first time. I had both the old IceTV widget and IceTV remote. Seems this replaced both of them but the first time I tried to install it failed and simply removed the IceTV remote from my dashboard.

Up and going now. Seems much faster than the IceTV remote I was running!

grfxninja
9th June 2008, 06:16 PM
looks like I just got the same problem i did with the last version.

http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/4951/icetvwg8.png


It seemed to be working fine, but i hadn't opened dashboard in a day or so (may or may not have anything to do with it)

a simple refresh fixed it.

I've been having that problem since the beta was initially released, but as yet no fix has been forthcoming :(

I live in hope

iSlayer
19th June 2008, 10:23 AM
I've been having that problem since the beta was initially released, but as yet no fix has been forthcoming :(

I live in hope

2.1 is coming out today and that bug should finally be completed fixed

andytlr
19th June 2008, 10:51 AM
Awesome work guys. I'd stopped using the widget because it was easier to just leave an IceTV tab open in Firefox. Now that you don't have to wait for it to load every time I'm going back to the widget.

All seems to be working fine but I'll post any bugs if I find any.

macaholic
19th June 2008, 11:10 AM
Is there any way that the widget can list past days shows?

So I can see what was on last night, for example.

marc
19th June 2008, 11:50 AM
Is there any way that the widget can list past days shows?

So I can see what was on last night, for example.
Sorry, but we the widget and website don't currently have any method for doing that and nothing is planned for the immediate future.

marc
20th June 2008, 03:48 PM
**Bump**

There's a new beta in the first post. This should fix the empty TV guide issue and a few other tiny things. Please let us know if it works for you!

andytlr
20th June 2008, 03:53 PM
I only really use My Upcoming Shows so I haven't noticed this before. Are these just blank because there isn't guide data for SBS HD and ABC HD?

http://img.skitch.com/20080620-qjif87w4a84h45873wnnqymn43.jpg

Apart from that it all seems to be working great. Top work.

marc
20th June 2008, 04:07 PM
I only really use My Upcoming Shows so I haven't noticed this before. Are these just blank because there isn't guide data for SBS HD and ABC HD?
Yes, that's intentional.

If there's no specific HD programming then we leave the space empty, as we can't guarantee you'll get an upscaled HD version of the SD channel... in some cases you'll end up recording a HD station demo (flowery music, big landscapes etc).

If there is true HD shows then we'll list them.

There's an option in the My Account (http://www.icetv.com.au/cgi-bin/webmembers.cgi?op=showIceguide) page on the IceTV website (you can get to it by clicking "Most Settings" on the widget back) to blindly copy the SD channels to HD to fill in the gaps. HD specific content will be kept it it's different. Please use this option with extreme caution if you're using IceTV to record though! No one wants to get a 1 hour recording of an HD station demo.

I hope that made sense.

andytlr
20th June 2008, 04:14 PM
Yeah that made sense. I think I've just ignored those channels in the past.

Another way to do it would be to just turn off those channels in the widget. But, will true HD shows come up in My Upcoming Shows if those channels are turned off?

http://img.skitch.com/20080620-b9q9b9btx1pixmht8m4p3h91kw.jpg

marc
20th June 2008, 04:18 PM
Yeah, your Upcoming shows lists everything of interest (recordings, favourites, recommendations), no matter what channels you have turned off on the back.

marc
22nd June 2008, 06:42 PM
*** Bump ***

Is the new beta working well for everyone? It's very likely that'll be the release version if it is...

andytlr
22nd June 2008, 06:45 PM
Working great for me on home and work computers...

DJY
22nd June 2008, 09:27 PM
All good for me too!
Much more responsive... thanks guys!

silverdreamer
22nd June 2008, 09:32 PM
My widget is showing virtually no data. It's not worth the hassle, into the trash!

I find the on line guide a lot easier and less hassle.

Jun
22nd June 2008, 10:23 PM
My widget is showing virtually no data. It's not worth the hassle, into the trash!

I find the on line guide a lot easier and less hassle.

Ditto!

http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/6958/picture1mj0.png

Nothing listed for SBS 2, ABC 2, ABC HD, or SBS HD

iSlayer
22nd June 2008, 10:38 PM
is there actually anything on those channels though ?

marc
23rd June 2008, 09:37 AM
As stated previously:

Yes, that's intentional.

If there's no specific HD programming then we leave the space empty, as we can't guarantee you'll get an upscaled HD version of the SD channel... in some cases you'll end up recording a HD station demo (flowery music, big landscapes etc).

If there is true HD shows then we'll list them.

There's an option in the My Account (http://www.icetv.com.au/cgi-bin/webmembers.cgi?op=showIceguide) page on the IceTV website (you can get to it by clicking "Most Settings" on the widget back) to blindly copy the SD channels to HD to fill in the gaps. HD specific content will be kept it it's different. Please use this option with extreme caution if you're using IceTV to record though! No one wants to get a 1 hour recording of an HD station demo.

I hope that made sense.

This isn't a bug, it's the way things are supposed to be. If you want to have the SD channels duplicated to fill in the gaps, then turn on "Copy SD shows to HD channels".

Multichanneling isn't in full swing in Australia yet. Eventually it's likely that these channels will have different shows on them, and the widget has been built to cater for this (as has IceTV's service).

I usually just turn off the extra channels that you know aren't going to have different shows... I only have these on (for melb): ABC1, ABC2, SBS, 7, 7 HD, Nine, 10, 10 HD.

Jun
23rd June 2008, 10:21 AM
is there actually anything on those channels though ?

Yes according to the TV guide. Sometimes the whole lot shows as blank, every channel.

~Coxy
23rd June 2008, 10:25 AM
Yes according to the TV guide. Sometimes the whole lot shows as blank, every channel.

I get this way too often as well, on 2.0 as well as the new beta. If there's any debug logs or anything I can send I'd be happy to, as I'd really prefer to use the widget over yourtv!

marc
23rd June 2008, 10:44 AM
Yes according to the TV guide.
Which TV guide are you comparing it to? It should match the IceTV site (http://www.icetv.com.au/interactive/tvguide).


Sometimes the whole lot shows as blank, every channel.
If every channel is blank, does a Command-R reload fix it?

macaholic
23rd June 2008, 11:35 AM
Just thought I'd let you know that it all works for me.
All the HD channels are populated with info.
BUT, I do not have the option set in my account!
See images:
http://tinyurl.com/66rt8x
and
http://tinyurl.com/6725vp

Jun
23rd June 2008, 12:54 PM
Which TV guide are you comparing it to? It should match the IceTV site (http://www.icetv.com.au/interactive/tvguide).


If every channel is blank, does a Command-R reload fix it?

Compared to the IceTV online guide. The widget doesn't match.

Command-R does sometimes fix it. But does that mean that in order to use the widget I must always hit Command-R?

Here it is now -

http://img75.imageshack.us/img75/9859/picture1zs5.png

And here is the online IceTV guide showing the same times -

http://img75.imageshack.us/img75/2387/picture2xs6.png
http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/9084/picture3qg1.png

ABC1 and ABC2 shows programs that I wish to record on the online guide, but nothing shows in the widget even after hitting Command-R

macaholic
23rd June 2008, 01:02 PM
Aargh. Big brother appears as recommended!
Um, recommended for who/what?
http://tinyurl.com/4pph4y

andytlr
23rd June 2008, 01:09 PM
Aargh. Big brother appears as recommended!
Um, recommended for who/what?
http://tinyurl.com/4pph4y

I guess you watch shows that people who watch Big Brother watch... You can remove a recommendation.

macaholic
23rd June 2008, 01:21 PM
I guess you watch shows that people who watch Big Brother watch... You can remove a recommendation.

Ah, OK. Recommendation removed.
Interestingly, I had only just started using the widget/website and the only two show I set to record were:
Brum (10 minute childrens show for my kid) and Four corners.

Guess which of those shows the Big Brother devotees must also be watching. :rolleyes:

andytlr
23rd June 2008, 01:22 PM
Ah, OK. Recommendation removed.
Interestingly, I had only just started using the widget/website and the only two show I set to record were:
Brum (10 minute childrens show for my kid) and Four corners.

Guess which of those shows the Big Brother devotees must also be watching. :rolleyes:

HAHAHA, well it's clearly not Four Corners.

gumby08
23rd June 2008, 01:53 PM
*** Bump ***

Is the new beta working well for everyone? It's very likely that'll be the release version if it is...

This has been working perfectly for me since installing on 5 June. :thumbup:

homodelphinus
23rd June 2008, 01:54 PM
I am also having problems with the new widget. since the latest version it never updates. If I kill the dock and restart it, the widget loads with the program info for all channels. When I go to look at it again it may or may not have programs showing (depending on the length of time) but at some stage all of the data is lost and no data will show again until I kill the dock and restart or reload the widget again (ie remove and reload).

I check the website (IceTV) and the program guide shows there, but not in the widget.

I had this problem only recently with the old widget which is why I downloaded the new widget in the first place. The old widget worked flawlessly until recently and preferred the old 'by timeslot' view as is shown on the website.

This was previously my favourite widget and as mentioned worked flawlessly until recently.

I use a macbook pro 15" C2D.

marc
23rd June 2008, 02:50 PM
We've just release the 2.1 version of the WIdgets.

We'll keep looking into any issues that people might be having though.

Jun
23rd June 2008, 03:14 PM
I check the website (IceTV) and the program guide shows there, but not in the widget.

My problem too.

EDIT: Just downloaded the 2.1 revision, and it seems to be working fine now. :thumbup: :D

mab
23rd June 2008, 03:44 PM
It's mostly working here except that the Channel 9 icons (both SD and HD) don't show. I just get white bordered squares.

marc
23rd June 2008, 04:25 PM
It's mostly working here except that the Channel 9 icons (both SD and HD) don't show. I just get white bordered squares.
That's an interesting one. Which region?

silverdreamer
23rd June 2008, 04:32 PM
All "MY' ice TV widgets where easily solved about 9.30 pm last night. now I'm much happier. :D

mab
23rd June 2008, 04:40 PM
That's an interesting one. Which region?

Darwin

darksplat
24th June 2008, 07:50 PM
I have updated to ver 2.0 build 11 and have NO Nine both SD and HD anyone?

mvjs
24th June 2008, 07:52 PM
I have updated to ver 2.0 build 11 and have NO Nine both SD and HD anyone?

There's something up with IceTV's Nine listings at the moment (http://www.icetv.com.au/news/?p=173)

Ralph Nader
25th June 2008, 01:12 AM
Channel 9 has been trying to stop IceTV from publishing nine's program schedules on the basis of breach of copyright. The original court case was decided in IceTV's favour: Nine Network Australia Pty Ltd v IceTV Pty Ltd [2007] FCA 1172 (9 August 2007) (http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/cases/cth/federal_ct/2007/1172.html)

It would seem, IMHO, from the announcement on icetv's website, that Nine appealed to the Full Federal Court and the court has made specific orders affecting how icetv may obtain or use that information.

IceTV has indicated that it is seeking permission from the High Court to put in an appeal to the High Court. I expect that the Full Federal Court decision will be available from austlii in the next week or so. that will provide more information.

tangent23
25th June 2008, 01:15 AM
i use the widget to check to see if there's anything i want to watch on TV.. now there's less to distract me from doing other stuff..

thanks channel 9!

andytlr
25th June 2008, 11:18 AM
I wonder why Channel 9 is sweet with giving TV Tonight their guide data (http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2007/12/advance-guides.html) but not IceTV. I'm also thinking that the TV picture on that page might be from the IceTV website somewhere.

There are other guides out there, I still don't quite get why 9 has a problem with IceTV.

iSlayer
25th June 2008, 11:28 AM
There are other guides out there, I still don't quite get why 9 has a problem with IceTV.

Because nine owns the company that supplies(sells) the guides to most websites(yourtv etc). IceTV dont buy the guides so nine dont like them.

andytlr
25th June 2008, 11:31 AM
Because nine owns the company that supplies(sells) the guides to most websites(yourtv etc). IceTV dont buy the guides so nine dont like them.

So, if at the end of the day IceTV looses against 9, would there be an option for IceTV to pay for them? Even if it meant IceTV subscription costs went up?

Sorry if that is getting into to confidential territory.

iSlayer
25th June 2008, 11:34 AM
So, if at the end of the day IceTV looses against 9, would there be an option for IceTV to pay for them? Even if it meant IceTV subscription costs went up?

Not sure. It's my understanding that HWW(the company that supplies the guides) may not supply them to anyone who will use them for pvr's. Not sure if this is still the case today but i believe it has been in the past and its coming from the networks i believe (which makes sense since they have all been anti pvr's)


Sorry if that is getting into to confidential territory.

No problem at all. I dont work for IceTV so anything i say here is just what ive learned from other sites etc

marc
25th June 2008, 11:36 AM
I wonder why Channel 9 is sweet with giving TV Tonight their guide data (http://www.tvtonight.com.au/2007/12/advance-guides.html) but not IceTV. I'm also thinking that the TV picture on that page might be from the IceTV website somewhere.
I guess it's to do with our recording functionality. Who knows exactly what they're thinking though.

For the record, I like TV Tonight and IceTV likes TV Tonight as well. David's a great guy.

From Matt Kossatz, the IceTV General Manager:

Section 5 of the Full Court's ruling was as follows;

"...delete forthwith from any television program schedules (of which it has electronic copies including in the IceTV Database) all Nine Program Time and Title Information (but not the program and episode title for any of the applicant’s television programs) entered from 1 December 2005 to the date of this order."

The full list of orders made by the Full Court of the Federal Court can be found here (http://esearch.fedcourt.gov.au/Esearch?showDoc=25553926).

We have complied with the orders made yesterday by the Full Court of the Federal Court and hence have started to provide scheduling information once again for Channel Nine by methods which strictly comply to the Full Court's findings and to copyright law.

IceTV has lodged an application for special leave to appeal to the High Court of Australia from the decision of the Full Court.

We have also made further requests to certain TV Networks to permit or grant licensed access to IceTV to reproduce their weekly television listings within our IceTV Guide. It is our understanding that similar agreements must have been made for services such as TiVo to provide thier EPG information.

As we have said previously, we hope to hear from these TV Networks shortly to learn of any requirements they may have in order for IceTV to do so. We will notify everyone if anything substantial eventuates.

Original post can be found here:
Channel 9 appeal judgment day today (http://www.icetv.com.au/iceforum/index.php?topic=1065.msg5062;boardseen#new)

In short, we'll have guide data back for Nine very soon.

marc
25th June 2008, 11:43 AM
So, if at the end of the day IceTV looses against 9, would there be an option for IceTV to pay for them? Even if it meant IceTV subscription costs went up?
I wish I could answer everything in full here, but as the case is still underway I'll keep what I say to public knowledge and facts (ie. no opinions!).

IceTV has previously asked the commercial TV stations to license their data with no success. We do work with SBS and ABC for their guides.

Even if IceTV lose this case to Nine, there will still be options available to us. These things are rarely black and white, so we'll just need to find a business model that complies 100% with the ruling, but still enables the great software we've developed and future endeavours.

We like the business we have and we think it's a service that people want and one that's useful.

dmw
10th September 2008, 09:25 PM
discovered a weird bug in iceTV widget.

no matter what show i select for more detail the date is always 10 December 2007 ... been like that for a weeks now.

anyone else got this problem or a solution?

DJY
10th September 2008, 09:30 PM
no matter what show i select for more detail the date is always 10 December 2007 ... been like that for a weeks now.

anyone else got this problem or a solution?

Yep... ditto here.

Ralph Nader
10th September 2008, 09:46 PM
I never noticed that before. But same here.

dmw
27th September 2008, 08:53 PM
discovered a weird bug in iceTV widget.

no matter what show i select for more detail the date is always 10 December 2007 ... been like that for a weeks now.

anyone else got this problem or a solution?

Marc - is this a known bug?

bennyling
27th September 2008, 08:55 PM
discovered a weird bug in iceTV widget.

no matter what show i select for more detail the date is always 10 December 2007 ... been like that for a weeks now.

anyone else got this problem or a solution?

Same here. Wierd, I didn't notice it until now!

EDIT: I meant, it shows 27th Dec like everyone else. Meh.

chrsha01
27th September 2008, 08:56 PM
discovered a weird bug in iceTV widget.

no matter what show i select for more detail the date is always 10 December 2007 ... been like that for a weeks now.

anyone else got this problem or a solution?

Mine shows 27 December 2007.

encryptionmatrix
27th September 2008, 08:57 PM
Mine Shows 27th as well...

matthew858
27th September 2008, 08:58 PM
Mine shows 27 December 2007.

Same here. Only just noticed it.

DJY
28th September 2008, 07:59 AM
mine now shows 28 Dec 2007