PDA

View Full Version : iChat and NetComm router



Pal-o-mine
14th May 2008, 11:03 PM
Here's the thing:

I have two systems running 10.5.2 and a NetComm NB5Plus4/W ADSL/ADSL2 Modem Router. I have been unable to use iChat for a long time. I'm not 100% sure but it may have stopped working after upgrading to Leopard.

When I attempt to connect with any other iChat user via voice or video I receive a connection error - SIPConnectIPPort failed

I have read a lot of posts regarding ichat connection errors including Finewine's (http://forums.mactalk.com.au/13/44737-ichat-leopard.html) and a lot of Ralph's (http://discussions.apple.com/profile.jspa?userID=208) posts over on the apple support discussions.

I was hoping that somebody else might have the same router as mine and maybe a quick fix :o.

Here is some of the log:

Video Conference Error Report:
32.773242 @SIP/SIP.c:2719 type=4 (900A0015/0)
[SIPConnectIPPort failed]
[]
34.774723 @SIP/SIP.c:2719 type=4 (900A0015/0)
[SIPConnectIPPort failed]
[]
88.014371 @SIP/SIP.c:2719 type=4 (900A0015/0)
[SIPConnectIPPort failed]
[]
90.015106 @SIP/SIP.c:2719 type=4 (900A0015/0)
[SIPConnectIPPort failed]

Regards

Mac Ram
14th May 2008, 11:48 PM
I'm using the exact same modem/router and 10.5.2. I am able to use iChat - but really have never had to set anything on the modem re port forwarding or anything.

thorevenge
14th May 2008, 11:56 PM
If its a VoIP enabled router you need to change it so that the VoIP ports are not using 5600 which iChat uses

ClockWork
15th May 2008, 12:05 AM
Might mean your Firewall is "On" and has not got the iChat ports set up, or your router has not got the ports set up or allowed. Ports 5060-5063.

MacDave
15th May 2008, 04:56 AM
Using iChat with a firewall or NAT router (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93208)

macosxhints.com - Use iChat A/V features with NAT routers that bind SIP (http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20041024202403434&query=ichat%2Bsip%2Bbinding)

Dave

avolve
15th May 2008, 07:55 AM
i followed the guide (with router specific instructions) at PortForward.com - Free Help Setting up Your Router or Firewall (http://portforward.com/)

Had no problems!

Pal-o-mine
15th May 2008, 09:23 AM
Thanks everybody, I really shouldn't post just before I go to bed and not check the replies. I'll give these suggestions a whirl and let y'all know how it turns out.

blakat
15th May 2008, 10:31 AM
from the apple website at - Mac OS X 10.5: Using iChat with a firewall or NAT router (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=306688)

Port requirements for iChat

By default, iChat on Mac OS X 10.5 attempts to use UDP port 16402 for all audio-video iChat traffic. If port 16402 is not available, iChat will try the next lowest port for the next ten ports, until it finds a port that it can use. So the range of ports that must be enabled in your router or firewall must include 16393-16402.
If none of the ports in that range are available, iChat will make a last-ditch attempt and select a port at random.
Unlike previous versions of iChat, iChat on Mac OS X 10.5 does not require more than one port to be open simultaneously. Once a valid port has been located, all signaling and AV traffic will be transmitted over that port.
If your firewall or router gives you the option of enabling incoming and outgoing ports, you should ensure that the range 16393-16402 is included in both lists. You should also ensure that connections can be made to external hosts on port 5678 for the SNATMAP service. The SNATMAP service, discussed in more detail here (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93208), enables iChat clients to communicate with one another, even if they are behind NAT firewalls.

to get this working at home as i've got a very strict firewall, i've setup forwarding port 16402 to 1 computer and 16401 to another; that should be all that's required to geti t working. iChat on 10.4 used a bucket load of ports including 5060 this has been streamlined in 10.5.

furious
15th May 2008, 01:07 PM
i followed the guide (with router specific instructions) at PortForward.com - Free Help Setting up Your Router or Firewall (http://portforward.com/)

Had no problems!

Portforward is the bomb. Not the terrorist kind mind you the trendy kind. I do not know where i wold be if that site did not exist. :eek:

Pal-o-mine
15th May 2008, 07:09 PM
i followed the guide (with router specific instructions) at PortForward.com - Free Help Setting up Your Router or Firewall (http://portforward.com/)

Had no problems!

Well check out the big brain on avolve. Thanks mate, the guide on portforward.com worked a treat. Thanks again. :D