PDA

View Full Version : WOW distributed TV tuner stick



mulquemi
10th May 2008, 09:52 AM
Dear Mac Users,
Our local franchise WOW store has for sale the "Artec" brand of USB TV tuner at $49.00.
Are these gadgets possible to use on mac (without windows option) or are other's available ,as cheaply, for ordinary TV reception.
There is potential ,if they work,for use while on caravan trip (grey power) instead of the clunky CRT portable.
I have no need for all the fancy options with some of the TV tuners,I just want to watch news and the occasional (dull) doco' while on the trip.
mulquemi

astr0b0y
10th May 2008, 09:56 AM
It would depend on the hardware inside the stick as to whether EyeTV supports it. If it is supported you would still have to buy EyeTV, which would increase the cost considerably. It may be a better option to buy something that already comes with EyeTV, like the Pinnacle (http://www.streetwise.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=150&products_id=5714).

leon
10th May 2008, 10:07 AM
what type of antenna do you have in or on the caravan? I ask because if you are going to use something like rabbit ears, then it will be unlikely that the digital tuner will work due to weak signal. Make sure that the tuner you buy supports analogue. I still think you're better off just buying an old cheap CRT analogue T.V or EyeTV Hybrid or Pinnacles version of the Hybrid.

RadioDog
10th May 2008, 10:12 AM
The Artec might not work but there are other cheap windoze DVB tuners that will work on a mac with drivers from DVB on the Mac (http://www.defyne.org/dvb/). A list of compatible devices is here (http://www.defyne.org/dvb/driver.html)

mulquemi
10th May 2008, 10:33 AM
RadioDog,
Thank you and everyone else for the advice,I'll check out all the other's brands and when I find one that suits report back with the results.
Thanks again.
mulquemi

Brains
10th May 2008, 10:53 AM
Some, but not all, tuner-sticks for Windows can be used on Mac OS X by using appropriate software from EchoFX (http://www.echofx.com/) ... you'd need to find out what chipset the stick uses first, though, to see if it is compliant. of course this does mean you would have to buy the stick and then buy the extra software, so you might as well go for a Mac-ready package and be done with it.

mulquemi
10th May 2008, 01:09 PM
Dear Brains,
Thank you for the info and the suggestion to go with the mac specific unit although considering the standard of TV programmes these days I have difficulty even upgrading my home system to watch the crap in wonderful HD res let alone buying fancy and unnecessarily expensive gear to watch news and the odd (dull) documentary in the caravan.
Seems that I will have to keep lugging the CRT portable around.
Thanks for the thoughts
mulquemi

banjo
11th May 2008, 01:50 PM
Just a thought: would you be able to use a Windows-specific tuner through Bootcamp or VMWare/Parallels?