PDA

View Full Version : ibook buying advice please

bdanielb
31st March 2005, 02:15 AM
Hey all, am sure glad I found these forums. Anyway, its time for me to switch, its gonna be an ibook but i need help deciding between 12'' and 14''? and if its the 14'' with DVD burner or not? i so cant make a choice...

Anyways, Im a uni student with a year to go, then Im going to travel a little later and thought I might as well take it with me. Why not?

I use my dell desktop for the net, mp3s, some office stuff, i'd do the same with ibook. My dell is ancient now like 5 years + old...lol. it still does the job, but slowly and needs lots of maintenance and i cant store much stuff.

this means the ibook will replace my desktop too. Is the 12" too small? would I even use a DVD burner? My brother bought a brand new dell 6 months ago and hasn't used the dvd burner once.

Your thoughts please, cos I dont wanna end up making the wrong $1500-2000 choice.

Cheers ;)

suryo
31st March 2005, 04:47 AM
Get the 12" upgraded with a bigger HD and put in an extra 512MB of 3rd party RAM. If you have any change, spend it on a Firewire HD for backup. It will be fine for what you do and it's much more portable than the 14" if you want to travel with it.

If your eyesight is reasonable, the 12" screen is just fine. It's got the same resolution as the 14" so you don't get any extra screen real-estate with the larger screen.

If you're not sure whether or not you'll use a DVD burner, you probably won't. If you decide you want one later, you can always put together an external one for under $250.

EDIT: Congrats on the decision to switch. You won't regret it. :)

fompsweeva
31st March 2005, 06:34 AM
If you're interested I'm selling my 12" 1ghz iBook:

http://forums.appletalk.com.au/index.php?showtopic=5998

iluvmymactoo
31st March 2005, 06:47 AM