PDA

View Full Version : .mac subscription pricing - WTF?!

njleach
15th April 2008, 11:56 AM
Hi,

Bought my first Mac back in January and love it :thumbup:

What i'm not loving however is the pricing of the .mac subscription - either single user (RRP $139.95) or the family pack (RRP $249.95).

I know i can buy them on eBay but there is a risk involved in such transactions. I thought i'd phone Apple to see if they had a discount for education customers (i'm a uni student) and apparently they don't. I then googled ".mac subscription discount" and found that amazon.com have a .mac family pack for US$125.49 (AU $135!) - but cannot ship outside the US.

What's with the massive price discrepancy for a .mac subscription? If I have a US billing address i can buy a .mac family pack from the US Apple store for US $179 (AU$200). But because i live in AU i pay $50 more for WHAT - the exact same .mac subscription?!

And because i don't live in the US i can't get amazon to ship it to me for $100 less than the retail price. I'm sorry but that's just bullsh*t.

Anyone else fed up with the .mac subscription price discrepancies?

Nick

tcn33
15th April 2008, 11:59 AM
Not really. Most folks on here would say ".mac? Why bother when there's (insert alternative)", "Buy it from eBay" (which is what I did), or "Apple price discrepancies have been done to death in other threads".

njleach
15th April 2008, 12:15 PM
Not really. Most folks on here would say "Apple price discrepancies have been done to death in other threads".

But isn't there a good reason why the price discrepancies get "done to death"? Other new Mac users such as myself by the sounds of it have also been annoyed at having to pay a premium for the same thing as our US counterparts.