PDA

View Full Version : Help: Elgato EyeTV Hybrid & Foxtel Picture (after tips)



slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 01:23 AM
Ok, I've my 24" iMac hooked up to the EyeTV Hybrid, I've got everything working, got all the digital channels through the antenna, including the HD ones.

The Foxtel of course is connected via the scart - composite video thingy.

Ok, the thing is that I've noticed that the picture from foxtel is not as good as it's through the antenna. It's ok, I guess fair.

But has anyone got any tips to improve it, make it sharper in full screen mode? Setting tricks? Some sort of cables to pick up from dick smith?

Tips would be very appreciated :-D

(PS: I thought I'd be able to use the S-video with it, but my foxtel box does not seem to have a s-video socket.)

leon
9th April 2008, 03:00 AM
My guess is that the picture looks crap as you are putting it through composite (yellow RCA). How is the Foxtel box normally connected to your television? Do you normally connect it to your TV via SCART? If so, then that is why you are seeing a difference.

sectioneight
9th April 2008, 06:43 AM
You can use S-Video - you just need a SCART cable (or converter plug) that has S-video output, I picked one up from Dick Smith (I have a flat looking Foxtel Pace box if that helps)

I have exactly the same setup, and the picture is just plain crappy on foxtel, have a look at the sports channels and see if they are any better

slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 06:43 AM
My guess is that the picture looks crap as you are putting it through composite (yellow RCA). How is the Foxtel box normally connected to your television? Do you normally connect it to your TV via SCART? If so, then that is why you are seeing a difference.

I'm assuming what is connecting my foxtel box to the EyeTV thing is 'Scart', and foxtel box was attached to my tv through the same thing, to my old 15 year old tv (which died on Sunday).

I don't entirely understand what you mean by the 'yellow rca', if so, what's the alternative then?

slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 06:47 AM
You can use S-Video - you just need a SCART cable (or converter plug) that has S-video output, I picked one up from Dick Smith (I have a flat looking Foxtel Pace box if that helps)

I have exactly the same setup, and the picture is just plain crappy on foxtel, have a look at the sports channels and see if they are any better


Oh good, thank you, I'll go to Dick Smith and try that out with the s-video thing... did it make a difference?

slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 07:27 AM
You can use S-Video - you just need a SCART cable (or converter plug) that has S-video output, I picked one up from Dick Smith (I have a flat looking Foxtel Pace box if that helps)

BTW: I don't know if it helps, but I just checked, my foxtel is a 'Pace' as well.

sectioneight
9th April 2008, 08:45 AM
Oh good, thank you, I'll go to Dick Smith and try that out with the s-video thing... did it make a difference?

I could not tell a great difference, so if you cannot find a cheapish converter, I would not worry. Just my personal opinion

slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 10:33 AM
I could not tell a great difference, so if you cannot find a cheapish converter, I would not worry. Just my personal opinion

Oh ok, I might scratch that idea then, as I would of only bothered if there was a noticable improvement. Back to the drawing board! :-D

Meanwhile I'm going to call up Foxtel today, have a chat to a tech about the "Pace" box... see if I can get any useful intel from that source, I've been hitting a wall with the usual 'google search'.

slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 10:51 AM
Ok, I was just looking at this Foxtel (http://www.foxtel.com.au/accessories/4753.htm?pageId=5&subId=6) page on Foxtel website.

It's a page on accessories, I realise from looking at this that I have the SCART to VCR thingy, because that's what I was using with the old tv, there on that page there is also a

"Scart to Component & Composite"

I'm thinking this is what I have to get to fix up the picture quality. So anyone confirm for me that I'm on the right track :D

iSlayer
9th April 2008, 10:56 AM
I dont know how bad your picture is but i can tell you that you will never get a great looking picture via an analogue tv tuner such as an eyetv

slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 11:03 AM
I dont know how bad your picture is but i can tell you that you will never get a great looking picture via an analogue tv tuner such as an eyetv

I have the antenna directly plugged into the eyetv too, I at least expect the picture to be as good as that in full screen mode. In full screen mode foxtel is not 'sharp', not enough definition around the eyes of people, etc. Does not compare to the image I got from my old 15 year old tv either. I expect better.

marc
9th April 2008, 11:22 AM
Scart to Component & Composite"

I'm thinking this is what I have to get to fix up the picture quality. So anyone confirm for me that I'm on the right track :D
A story: I recommended a TV to my g/fs dad (Bravia). He went out and bought it then asked me to help set it up. They only watch Foxtel, so after realising the only choices were Composite (very poor picture quality) or SCART on his PACE Foxtel box, I went out and bought an expensive RGB SCART to Component converter (not knowing that the PACE boxes also have YUV component as part of their SCART output). I finally hooked it all up using RGB SCART (the best quality output available for Foxtel boxes), only to find the picture looked about the same as when it was plugged in via component.

The moral to the story: Foxtel looks like YouTube. Digital high def TV completely and utterly smokes cable TV in terms of quality.

slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 11:38 AM
A story: I recommended a TV to my g/fs dad (Bravia). He went out and bought it then asked me to help set it up. They only watch Foxtel, so after realising the only choices were Composite (very poor picture quality) or SCART on his PACE Foxtel box, I went out and bought an expensive RGB SCART to Component converter (not knowing that the PACE boxes also have YUV component as part of their SCART output). I finally hooked it all up using RGB SCART (the best quality output available for Foxtel boxes), only to find the picture looked about the same as when it was plugged in via component.

The moral to the story: Foxtel looks like YouTube. Digital high def TV completely and utterly smokes cable TV in terms of quality.

*sigh* I keep on thinking there must be a solution...

My television which was old, I bought it the year GST came in, a BIG Philips TV (may it R.I.P), it's slightly bigger than my 24" iMac... it's foxtel picture was better on the old Philips! There must be something in the settings or something I'm missing... like what is "YUV"?

Foxtel box was plugged into my old VCR, and the VCR was connected to old TV... that's how I got my Foxtel, before the tv decided to die on me on Sunday. I loved that big tele :(

sectioneight
9th April 2008, 12:15 PM
A story: I recommended a TV to my g/fs dad (Bravia). He went out and bought it then asked me to help set it up. They only watch Foxtel, so after realising the only choices were Composite (very poor picture quality) or SCART on his PACE Foxtel box, I went out and bought an expensive RGB SCART to Component converter (not knowing that the PACE boxes also have YUV component as part of their SCART output). I finally hooked it all up using RGB SCART (the best quality output available for Foxtel boxes), only to find the picture looked about the same as when it was plugged in via component.

The moral to the story: Foxtel looks like YouTube. Digital high def TV completely and utterly smokes cable TV in terms of quality.

Ouch - I am considering canceling foxtel since getting my new tv (bravia as well) as it looks awful..don't watch it much anymore either. I only have it connected with a cheapnnasty SCART to Component connector tho

Unfortunately the eyetv hybrid can only accept the svideo or the composite (yellow) connector - so the foxtel "Scart to Component & Composite" won't help really

hopefully I didnt get my composites and components mixed up lol :rolleyes:

slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 12:38 PM
Unfortunately the eyetv hybrid can only accept the svideo or the composite (yellow) connector - so the foxtel "Scart to Component & Composite" won't help really

hopefully I didnt get my composites and components mixed up lol :rolleyes:

No, you're right, I had not realised that before. I need my foxtel tho! I'm in love with the gossip programs like E! News and the Daily Ten, TMZ, and Project Runway, TV1 cop shows, getting red carpet and award show events. I NEED that stuff!:p

And Ryan Seacrest!!!

marc
9th April 2008, 12:44 PM
My television which was old, I bought it the year GST came in, a BIG Philips TV (may it R.I.P), it's slightly bigger than my 24" iMac... it's foxtel picture was better on the old Philips!
It's probably a combination of 2 things:
- Your old CRT will be blurry. That's just how CRTs are. Being blurry will hide some of the deficiencies in the picture.
- Running a signal into the Elgato Hybrid means the signal has to be converted from analogue back to digital by a small and fairly cheap USB stick. Not ideal, but ok for some uses.

slashingthefox
9th April 2008, 12:54 PM
It's probably a combination of 2 things:
- Your old CRT will be blurry. That's just how CRTs are. Being blurry will hide some of the deficiencies in the picture.
- Running a signal into the Elgato Hybrid means the signal has to be converted from analogue back to digital by a small and fairly cheap USB stick. Not ideal, but ok for some uses.

I always thought the picture was sharp on the old tv, it's Foxtel via the eyeTV that's a little blurry.

As for the EyeTV itself, despite my fussiness over the Foxtel picture, I think it's so worth it. I took it out of the box last night, set up my computer, and what I get... WOW!!!

Once I worked out all the digital channels via the antenna, I get all the digital channels and HD channels (SBS, 7, 9 10, ABC - except for 7, I did have to find out the frequencies and manually enter them myself), I never got them before! And those digital channels via the antenna, full screen mode, excellent picture.

And it was quite a novelty to surf the internet while watching tv at the same time:
untitled picture (http://pics.livejournal.com/foxsyd/pic/000akgsr/) (screen cap)

steveb151
12th January 2009, 01:49 PM
Has this been resolved yet? I am considering getting an eye tv hybrid. My foxtel hd IQ box has HDMI and S-Video outputs. Any thoughts on whether the quality would be what I want it to be?

justjack
11th March 2009, 12:34 PM
Has this been resolved yet? I am considering getting an eye tv hybrid. My foxtel hd IQ box has HDMI and S-Video outputs. Any thoughts on whether the quality would be what I want it to be?

+1 - although I have to say, I have a Toshiba LCD large screen TV running SCART to composite (Monster) and I have no complaints about the picture... Sure sometimes you get a small "shimmer" when people where stripy tops but that's standard for video recordings. I have an IQ box that is non-HD, but would love to be able to burn recordings rather than lose them off the piddly HDD in the decoder...

Keithhhhh
11th March 2009, 06:02 PM
Did anybody notice on the screencap that there's a folder on the desktop called ____ porn?