PDA

View Full Version : How-to: automatically Printing from FLASH without "Print Box" Pop-up window?



actiontintoy
8th April 2008, 03:21 PM
hi guys,

i got a OSX question, maybe someone can help me,
i'm working on a Adobe Flash (Flash version 9, actionScript 3) project, running on a core2duo iMac, it is connected to a printer (Xerox Phaser 6360).
- the flash will be displayed in full screen.
- it is a "create your own postcard- &- print it out" flash-based multimedia project.
- so Flash will need to print stuff.

issue is:
- everytime when something need to be printed, macOS X will prompt a "Print Box" pop-up window say Cancel or Print (see my jpeg below).
- so it might overlap on top of my Flash project, which is running full screen (so having the pop-up window overlapping my flash is no good).


so i need a solution to avoid this, any idea?
what i can think of are:
A- is there a way to avoid/by-pass this step? meaning a way not to show this?
or
B- or is there a shareware/way to "auto-click RETURN button" so even this screen appear it will be "auto-click" away.
or ..C?


i knew there is a Plug-in (or called: Xtra) for Macromedia Director called: Print-o-matic,
the URL is:
Electronic Ink Products - PrintOMatic, PrintOMatic Lite, Table Xtra, Yak Xtra (http://www.printomatic.com/products.cfm)
it work well on the Director on Mac OS7, but they only made it for Director & Authorware, not Flash :-(
do you know something similar for Flash?



this is the pop-up Print Box window (before printing):
http://photos-g.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-sf2p/v193/184/11/743997016/n743997016_546542_8816.jpg


about the printer:
High speed color for high volume printing - Phaser 6360 (http://www.office.xerox.com/printers/color-printers/phaser-6360/enus.html)


hope i'm able to get a solution here.
thanks guys,


cheers,
tintoy

forgie
8th April 2008, 04:11 PM
Is this something you just want to get working on your own computer? Or is it something you're doing for someone else, or to be distributed publicly?

actiontintoy
8th April 2008, 04:20 PM
hi,

it is a job i got i got, so it is a working project.
so i'm willing to buy any shareware/plug-in to make it work.

geektechnu
8th April 2008, 04:54 PM
Haven't tried this myself, but it seems the AS3.0 PrintJob class can also print things that are not visible on the stage.

Try looking up "PrintJob.addPage();"?

Sorry I can't really help any more than that - Your problem is very specific and probably out of most of our expertise..

SyncMan
9th April 2008, 05:20 AM
And because of that, maybe you could ask at the Adobe forums, more Flash people there...

Adobe - Flash Support Forums (http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforums/forum/index.cfm?forumid=15)

actiontintoy
13th April 2008, 11:00 PM
hi,

yes i already post this question at Adobe forum, but i still haven't got any answer/solution


so does anyone got any solution for this issue?
which is:
able to print without showing the "print dialog box" pop-up window,
pr any other way to by-pass the pop-up window,
thanks.

BTW, i'm adobe Flash + mac OS X 10.4