PDA

View Full Version : Issues with Leopard



Blue Water Boy
24th March 2008, 08:50 PM
hey guys

i have some questions regarding leopard:

1. When i have my iPod plugged in it doesn't show in the Finder side bar...this isn't a big problem but is kinda annoying. Is it new to leopard cause i can remember when it did show up...whether that was on tiger though i can't remember.

2. When scrolling in Finder an i go into a folder then navigate back to the previous folder the scroll is returned to the top of the 'page' this is some what more annoying...any thoughts???

thanks

Bande28

Huy
24th March 2008, 08:55 PM
Does it show up on your desktop?

Don't know about number 2, sorry.

Beau
24th March 2008, 08:55 PM
Hey Bande28!

@1 - Go into Finder, head to the menu bar, click on Finder, then go down to Preferences. On the sidebar tab, make sure CDs, DVDs and iPods is checked.

Blue Water Boy
24th March 2008, 08:56 PM
i dont have iPods CDs or other HDDs on my desktop...looks messy....and i do have the finder preference checked for the iPods and CD to show up.....thats y i need help :-(

Redman
24th March 2008, 08:57 PM
1. It may have something to do with the Touch. My Gen5 30GB shows up, but the touch doesn't.

2. Probably need more info - like what view are you using, how you are navigating etc

Blue Water Boy
24th March 2008, 08:58 PM
im using icon view mostly...navigating...what do you mean by that?

Redman
24th March 2008, 08:59 PM
Do you use the back arrow to go "back" or other means ??

Blue Water Boy
24th March 2008, 09:00 PM
oh yes...i use the back arrow

Blue Water Boy
24th March 2008, 09:01 PM
http:///Users/Blake/Desktop/Picture 1.png

Huy
24th March 2008, 09:02 PM
Can't see your image.

http:/Users/Blake/Desktop/Picture%201.png <-- does not work for obvious reasons :D

Blue Water Boy
24th March 2008, 09:03 PM
im kinda new to posting images...can u tell me how to do this pls? :-)

much appreciated

Huy
24th March 2008, 09:04 PM
Use an image hosting service such as ImageShack then link it in to your post.

Redman
24th March 2008, 09:05 PM
You will need to upload it to photbucket (or similar) then get the image address and wrap the address in the img tags as you probably did with the"desktop" pic

Beau
24th March 2008, 09:07 PM
Aah yes, iPod touches / iPhones DO NOT show up in Finder, as they are only accessible through iTunes.

On other iPods, they would have shown up if 'Disk Mode' was enabled.

As of iTunes 7.6.1 & Firmware 1.1.4 - Disk mode is not available.

Huy
24th March 2008, 09:08 PM
Nice pick up guys, on his Touch.

I assumed it was an iPod nano or Classic.

Yes Beau is right, iPhones and iPod Touches do not have the Disk Mode function and won't appear on the Desktop/Finder when mounted.

Blue Water Boy
24th March 2008, 09:10 PM
<a href="http://img237.imageshack.us/my.php?image=picture1wb1.png" target="_blank"><img src="http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/3572/picture1wb1.th.png" border="0" alt="Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us" /></a><br /><br /><a href="http://img604.imageshack.us/content.php?page=blogpost&files=img237/3572/picture1wb1.png" title="QuickPost"><img src="http://imageshack.us/img/butansn.png" alt="QuickPost" border="0"></a> Quickpost this image to Myspace, Digg, Facebook, and others!

Blue Water Boy
24th March 2008, 09:10 PM
DAMN IT!!!!

stuff it here it is on Flikr: Picture 1 on Flickr - Photo Sharing! (http://www.flickr.com/photos/21660761@N05/2356957811/)

Huy
24th March 2008, 09:15 PM
Yes as mentioned that is a known issue (not a problem really).

It is only viewable from iTunes.

Does not mount or show on the Desktop because it has no Disk Mode.

And this is what you wanted to do:

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/3572/picture1wb1.th.png (http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/3572/picture1wb1.png)

IMG tags which point to the thumbnail.
URL tags which make the thumbnail clickable to the full-sized image.

Redman
24th March 2008, 09:23 PM
#2 - Not really sure. I have navigated the same way you have and mine is the same. I usually use column view where this works as you would like it - remembering the previous folder - but it's not as "pretty"
Not sure if there is a way around it ? Maybe someone else may be able to help.

Blue Water Boy
24th March 2008, 09:25 PM
ok...thanks guys (and girls???)