PDA

View Full Version : 256VRam vs 512 VRam



lazydesi
27th February 2008, 09:36 AM
512 VRam ,and multi touch track pad bit tempting meee

cam some body tell me the real difference between those two VRam.

I am a lover of Macbooks, in future any chances of getting Multitouch trackpad to macbooks?

Huy
27th February 2008, 09:38 AM
I don't think we'll see Multi-Touch coming to the MacBook soon, because it is just one more reason to go for an Air or Pro for the time being.

Eventually, yes they'll have it, but not yet.

Can't comment about 512MB v 256MB but you'd have the usual expectations about double the VRAM.

lazydesi
27th February 2008, 09:40 AM
I don't think we'll see Multi-Touch coming to the MacBook soon, because it is just one more reason to go for an Air or Pro for the time being.

Eventually, yes they'll have it, but not yet.

Can't comment about 512MB v 256MB but you'd have the usual expectations about double the VRAM.

yep double the VRam make video editing faster, all the multimedia things will be faster with 512 VRam when comapred to 256 VRam, but want to see how much faster they are?

lazydesi
27th February 2008, 09:42 AM
will the 500USD difference between the begineer and medium model of MBP is worth?

$1999. Macbook Pro 15" 2.4GHz / 2GB / 200GB 5400RPM / 256MB Vram
$2499. Macbook Pro 15" 2.5GHz / 2GB / 250GB 5400RPM / 512MB Vram

for 0.1 Ghz , 50GB HDD, 256 VRam

Mikey D
27th February 2008, 09:54 AM
It's the same as what it used to be.

Personally i've found my 2.6/256 far snappier than my 2.2/128 was, games included.

dev_enter
27th February 2008, 10:00 AM
Personally, I don't think the AU$700 extra is worth it.

I have the previous model 2.4GHz/256MB/160GB (7200rpm), and it's plenty fast.

Huy
27th February 2008, 10:02 AM
I agree. The price difference doesn't justify the incrementals. Just my opinion. I'd go 2.4GHz/256MB.

lazydesi
27th February 2008, 10:17 AM
My mate is coming from US, I can ask him to bring the entry level MBP, he can get for 1900USD

Jizo
7th March 2008, 02:16 AM
The price difference isn't worth it I don't think. I got a lower level one because the difference could be used on software, accesories, etc.

Geoff3DMN
7th March 2008, 06:56 AM
I don't personally think the extra cost is justified on a purely performance basis, but if you have stacks of $ and can afford whatever you want without budgeting then sure... go for it :)